1987 No. 301

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of Preseli (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1987

Made

26th February 1987

Coming into force in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 58(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales on 4th December 1986 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of Preseli:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 58(2) and 67 of that Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the District of Preseli (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1987.
- 2. This Order shall come into force on 7th May 1987, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day it shall come into force forthwith.
- 3.—(1) The existing wards of the District of Preseli shall be abolished and that district shall be divided into thirty-two wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the areas specified in column 2 of that Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1, which areas are:—
 - (a) in the case of a ward of a community, the areas demarcated by green lines on the boundary map referred to in the Preseli (Communities) Order 1987(b) and designated on that map by reference to the names of the wards of the communities as set out in column 2 of Schedule 2 to that Order, and
 - (b) in the case of a community, the areas demarcated by red lines on the boundary map referred to in the Preseli (Communities) Order 1987 and designated on that map by reference to the names of the communities as set out in paragraphs (1), (2) and (4) of Article 6 of that Order.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the Schedule to this Order opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- 4. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of Preseli shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1987 and every fourth year thereafter.
 - 5. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or alteration of the register

of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into force of this Order.

Douglas Hurd
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State

Home Office 26th February 1987

Article 3. SCHEDULE

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

1	2	3 Number of
Name of New Ward	Area of New Ward	Councillors
Brawdy	The Communities of Brawdy and Mathry	1
Burton	The Communities of Burton and Rosemarket	1
Camrose	The Communities of Camrose and Roch	1
Castle	The Castle ward of the Community of Haverfordwest	1
Cilgerran	The Communities of Cilgerran and Manordeifi	1
Clydey	The Communities of Boncath and Clydey	1
Crymych	The Communities of Crymych and Eglwyswrw	1
Dinas Cross	The Communities of Cwm Gwaun, Dinas Cross and Puncheston	1
Fishguard	The Fishguard ward of the Community of Fishguard and Goodwick	2
Garth	The Garth and Portfield wards of the Community of Haverfordwest	3
Goodwick	The Goodwick ward of the Community of Fishguard and Goodwick	1
Hakin	The Hakin and Hubberston wards of the Community of Milford	3
Johnston	The Communities of Johnston and Tiers Cross	1
Letterston	The Communities of Hayscastle, Letterston and Wolfscastle	1
Llangwm	The Communities of Freystrop and Llangwm	1
Maenclochog	The Communities of Llandissilio West, Maenclochog and Mynachlog-Ddu	1
Merlin's Bridge	The Community of Merlin's Bridge	1
Milford Central and East	The Central and East wards of the Community of Milford	3
Milford North and West	The North and West Wards of the Community of Milford	2

SCHEDULE (continued)

Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Newport	The Community of Newport	1
Neyland East	The East ward of the Community of Neyland	1
Neyland West	The Community of Llanstadwell and the West ward of the Community of Neyland	1
Prendergast	The Prendergast ward of the Community of Haverfordwest	1
Priory	The Priory ward of the Community of Haverfordwest	1
Rudbaxton	The Communities of Rudbaxton, Spittal and Uzmaston and Boulston	1
St. David's	The Community of St. Davids and the Cathedral Close	1
St. Dogmaels	The Communities of Nevern and St. Dogmaels	1
St. Ishmael's	The Communities of Dale, Herbrandston, Marloes and St. Brides and St. Ishmael's	1
Scleddau	The Communities of Pencaer, Scleddau and Trecŵn	1
Solva	The Communities of Llanrhian and Solva	1
The Havens	The Communities of The Havens and Walwyn's Castle	1
Wiston	The Communities of Ambleston, New Moat and Wiston	1