STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1987 No. 300

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Borough of Dinefwr (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1987

Made--26th February 1987Coming into force in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 58(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(1), the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales on 27th November 1986 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the Borough of Dinefwr:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 58(2) and 67 of that Act, I hereby make the following Order:

1. This Order may be cited as the Borough of Dinefwr (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1987.

2. This Order shall come into force on 7th May 1987, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day it shall come into force forthwith.

3.—(1) The existing wards of the Borough of Dinefwr shall be abolished and that borough shall be divided into twenty-five wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the areas specified in column 2 of that Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1, which areas are —

- (a) in the case of a ward of a community, the areas demarcated by green lines on the boundary map referred to in the Dinefwr (Communities) Order 1986(2) and designated on that map by reference to the names of the wards of the communities as set out in column 2 of the Schedule to that Order, and
- (b) in the case of a community, the areas demarcated by red lines on the boundary map referred to in the Dinefwr (Communities) Order 1986 and designated on that map by reference to the names of the communities as set out in paragraphs (1) and (3) of Article 5 of that Order.

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the Schedule to this Order opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

4. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the Borough of Dinefwr shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1987 and every fourth year thereafter.

^{(1) 1972} c. 70.

⁽²⁾ S.I.1986/2077.

5. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or alteration of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into force of this Order.

Home Office 26th February 1987 Douglas Hurd One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State

SCHEDULE

Article 3

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

1	2	3
Name of New Ward	Area of New Ward	Number of Councillors
Ammanford	The Iscennen ward of the Community of Ammanford	1
Betws	The Community of Betws	1
Brynamman	The Brynamman ward of the Community of Quarter Bach	1
Castle	The Castle ward of the Community of Llandeilo	1
Cynwyl Gaeo	The Communities of Cynwyl Gaeo and Llanwrda	1
Ffairfach	The Community of Ffairfach	1
GarnantThe Pistillwyd and Twyn wards of the Community of Cwmamman	2	
Glanamman	The Grenig and Tircoed wards of the Community of Cwmamman	2
Llandeilo	The Tywi ward of the Community of Llandeilo	1
Llandovery	The Community of Llandovery	2
Llandybie	The Heolddu and Llandybie wards of the Community of Llandybie	3
Llanegwad	The Communities of Llanegwad and Llanfynydd	1
Llanfair-ar-y-bryn	The Communities of Cilycwm and Llanfair-ar-y-bryn	1
Llanfihangel Aberbythych	The Communities of Llanfihangel Aberbythych and Llangathen	1
Llangadog	The Communities of Llangadog and Llansadwrn	1
Llynfell	The Llynfell ward of the Community of Quarter Bach	1
Manordeilo	The Community of Manordeilo	1
Myddfai	The Communities of Llanddeusant and Myddfai	1

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

1	2	3
Name of New Ward	Area of New Ward	Number of Councillors
Myddnfych	The Myddynfych ward of the Community of Ammanford	1
Pantyffynnon	The Pantyffynnon ward of the Community of Ammanford	1
Penygroes	The Penygroes ward of the Community of Llandybie	2
Pontamman	The Wernddu ward of the Community of Ammanford	1
Quarter Bach	The Quarter Bach ward of the Community of Quarter Bach	1
Saron	The Saron ward of the Community of Llandybie	2
Talley	The Communities of Llansawel and Talley	1