#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1987 No. 2223

## **PROBATION**

# The Combined Probation Areas (Hereford and Worcester) Order 1987

*Made - - - - 21st December 1987* 

Coming into force in accordance with Article 1

In exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 54(4) of, and paragraph 1 of Schedule 3 to, the Powers of Criminal Courts Act 1973(1) and after the consultation required by that paragraph, I hereby make the following Order:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (Hereford and Worcester) Order 1987 and shall come into force on 1st January 1988, except that for the purpose of making any appointment under Article 3(2) below to have effect from 1st January 1988 this Order shall come into force forthwith.
- **2.** Schedule 2 to the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986(**2**) shall be amended by substituting for the entry in respect of Hereford and Worcester the following entry —

Column 1	Column 2	Column 3
Petty Sessions Area	Probation Area	Number of justices on probation committee
Bewdley and Stourport	Hereford and Worcester	2
Bromsgrove		2
City of Hereford		2
Kidderminster		2
Malvern Hills		2
Mid-Worcestershire		2
North Herefordshire		2
Redditch		2
South Herefordshire		2

**<sup>(1)</sup>** 1973 c. 62.

<sup>(2)</sup> S.I. 1986/1713, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Column 1	Column 2	Column 3
Petty Sessions Area	Probation Area	Number of justices on
		probation committee
Vale of Evesham		2
City of Worcester		3

- **3.**—(1) The nineteen members of the Hereford and Worcester Probation Committee appointed by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Bewdley Borough, Bromyard, Dore and Bredwardine, Droitwich, Evesham, Hereford (County), Hundred House, Kington, Ledbury, Leominster and Wigmore, Malvern, Pershore, Ross, Stourport, Tenbury, Upton on Severn, City of Worcester and Worcester (County) before those divisions were re-organised to form seven new divisions known as the Bewdley and Stourport, Malvern Hills, Mid-Worcestershire, North Herefordshire, South Herefordshire, Vale of Evesham and City of Worcester divisions shall cease to hold office as members of that Committee, but shall be eligible for re-appointment.
- (2) The justices for each of the new divisions of Bewdley and Stourport, Malvern Hills, Mid-Worcestershire, North Herefordshire, South Herefordshire and Vale of Evesham shall appoint two of their number, and the justices for the new division of City of Worcester shall appoint three of their number, to serve, with effect from 1st January 1988, as members of the Hereford and Worcester Probation Committee; and the members so appointed shall hold office until 30th November 1989 and shall then cease to hold office but shall be eligible for re-appointment.

Home Office 21st December 1987 Douglas Hurd
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of
State

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986 to take account of the reorganisation of a number of petty sessional divisions in the county of Hereford and Worcester effected by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Hereford and Worcester) Order 1987 (S.I.1987/1913) which comes into force on 1st January 1988.