STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1987 No. 2222

PROBATION

The Combined Probation Areas (Cumbria) Order 1987

Made	-	-	-	-		21st December 1987
Coming	into f	force		-	-	1st January 1988

In exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 54(4) of, and paragraph 1 of Schedule 3 to, the Powers of Criminal Courts Act 1973(1) and after the consultation required by that paragraph, I hereby make the following Order:

1. This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (Cumbria) Order 1987 and shall come into force on 1st January 1988.

2. Schedule 2 to the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986(**2**) shall be amended by substituting for the entry in respect of Cumbria the following entry—

Column 1	Column 2	Column 3
Petty Sessions Area	Probation Area	Number of justices on probation committee
Appleby	Cumbria	1
Barrow with Bootle		4
Carlisle		4
Kendal and Lonsdale		3
Keswick		1
North Lonsdale		1
Penrith and Alston		2
South Lakes		2
West Allerdale		4
Whitehaven		3
Wigton		1

^{(1) 1973} c. 62.

⁽²⁾ S.I. 1986/1713, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

3. The two justices appointed to be members of the Cumbria Probation Committee by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Ambleside and Windermere and of Hawkshead before those divisions were combined to form a new division known as the South Lakes division, the four justices so appointed by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Barrow-in-Furness and Bootle before those divisions were combined to form a new division known as the Barrow with Bootle division, the three justices so appointed by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Kendal and Lonsdale Ward before those divisions were combined to form a new division known as the Kendal and Lonsdale division, the one justice so appointed by the justices for the petty sessional division of East Ward before that division and other areas were constituted a new division known as the Appleby division, the two justices so appointed by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of West Ward and Penrith and Alston before the constitution of a new division known as the Penrith and Alston division and the four justices so appointed by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Cockermouth, Maryport and Workington before those divisions were combined to form a new division known as the West Allerdale division shall all continue to hold office as members of that Committee, as if they had been appointed by the justices for the relevant new division, until 30th November 1989 and shall then cease to hold office but shall be eligible for re-appointment.

Home Office 21st December 1987 Douglas Hurd One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986 to take account of the reorganisation of petty sessional divisions within the county of Cumbria effected by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Cumbria) Order 1987 (S.I.1987/1925) which comes into force on 1st January 1988.