STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1987 No. 2213

LAND REGISTRATION, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Land Registration (District Registries) (No.2) Order 1987

Made	-	-	-	-		14th December 1987
Coming	into j	force		-	-	1st April 1988

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 132 of the Land Registration Act 1925(1) and with the concurrence of the Treasury, hereby makes the following Order:—

Title, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) This Order, which supersedes the Land Registration (District Registries) Order 1987(**2**), may be cited as the Land Registration (District Registries) (No.2) Order 1987 and shall come into force on 1st April 1988.

(2) In this Order, unless the context otherwise requires—

"the Act" means the Land Registration Act 1925;

"district registry" means a district registry of the Land Registry within the meaning of section 132 of the Act;

"the Schedule" means the Schedule to this Order.

District Registries

- (a) **2.** (1) (a) There shall continue to be district registries bearing the names and at the places specified in column 1 in Part I of the Schedule.
- (b) On and after the dates specified in column 1 in Part II of the Schedule there shall be new district registries bearing the names and at the places specified in that column.

(2) Each district registry shall be the proper office for the purposes of the registration of titles to land wholly or partly in its district, which shall comprise the administrative areas specified opposite its name in columns 2 and 3 in both Parts of the Schedule:

Provided that-

^{(1) 1925} c. 21.

⁽²⁾ S.I.1987/360.

the county of Wiltshire shall not form part of the district of the Gloucester District Land Registry before 1st November 1988 and shall not form part of the district of the Plymouth District Land Registry on or after that date;

and the provisions of the Schedule shall be construed accordingly.

Dated 8th December 1987

Mackay of Clashfern, C.

We concur,

Peter Lloyd Mark Lennox-Boyd Two of the Lords Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury

Dated 14th December 1987

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

SCHEDULE

PART I

continuing district registries

(1) District Registry		
(2)		
Counties (including the Isles of Scilly)		
(3)		
London Boroughs (including the City and the Temples)		
The Birkenhead District Land Registry at Birkenhead	Cheshire	
	Merseyside	
	Staffordshire	
The Croydon District Land Registry at Croydon	Bexley	
		Bromley
		Croydon
		Kingston upon Thames
		Merton
		Richmond upon Thames
		Sutton
The Durham District Land Registry at Durham	Cleveland	
	Cumbria	
	Durham	
	Humberside	
	Northumberland	
	North Yorkshire	
Tyne and Wear		
The Gloucester District Land Registry at Gloucester	Berkshire	
	Gloucestershire	
	Oxfordshire	
	Warwickshire	

(1)District Registry(2)		
Counties (including the Isles of Scilly)		
(3) London Boroughs (including the City and the Temples)		
	West Midlands (only before 1st October 1988)	
	Wiltshire (on and after 1st November 1988)	
The Harrow District Land Registry at Harrow on the Hill	The City of London	
		The Inner Temple and the Middle Temple
		Barnet
		Brent
		Camden
		City of Westminster
		Ealing
		Hammersmith and Fulham
		Harrow
		Islington
		Kensington and Chelsea
The Lytham District Land Registry at Lytham St. Annes	Greater Manchester	
	Lancashire	
The Nottingham District Land Registry at Nottingham	Derbyshire	
	Leicestershire	
	Nottinghamshire	
	South Yorkshire	
	West Yorkshire	
The Peterborough District Land Registry at Peterborough	Bedfordshire	
	Cambridgeshire	
	Essex	
	Northamptonshire	
	Lincolnshire	
	4	

District Registry (2)		
Counties (including the Isles of Scilly)		
(3)		
London Boroughs (including the City and the Temples)		
the city and the remples)	Norfolk	
	Suffolk (only before 1st July 1988)	
The Plymouth District Land Registry at Plymouth	Avon	
	Cornwall	
	Devon	
	Isles of Scilly	
	Somerset	
Wiltshire (only before 1st November 1988)		
The Stevenage District Land Registry at Stevenage	Buckinghamshire	
	Hertfordshire	
		Barking and Dagenham
		Enfield
		Hackney
		Haringey
		Havering
		Newham
		Redbridge
		Tower Hamlets
		Waltham Forest
The Swansea District Land Registry at Swansea	Hereford and Worcester	Hillingdon
	All counties in Wales	Hounslow
The Tunbridge Wells District Land Registry at Tunbridge Wells	East Sussex	
	Kent	

(1)	
District Registry	
(2)	
Counties (including the Isles	
of Scilly)	
(3)	
London Boroughs (including	
the City and the Temples)	
The Weymouth District Land	Dorset
Registry at Weymouth	
	Hampshire
	Isle of Wight
	West Sussex

PART II

new district registries

(1) District Registry	(2) Counties (including the Isles of Scilly)	(3) London Boroughs (including the City and the Temples)
The Telford District Land Registry at Telford on and after 1st April 1988	Shropshire	Greenwich
		Lambeth
		Lewisham
		Southwark
		Wandsworth
The Kingston upon Hull District Land Registry at Kingston upon Hull on and after 1st July 1988	Lincolnshire	
	Norfolk	
	Suffolk	
The Coventry District Land Registry at Coventry on and after 1st October 1988	West Midlands	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order, which supersedes the Land Registration (District Registries) Order 1987, constitutes new district land registries at Coventry, Kingston upon Hull and Telford. The Order also transfers responsibility for the registration of titles:—

- (a) in the London Boroughs of Greenwich, Lambeth, Lewisham, Southwark and Wandsworth from the Croydon to the Telford District Land Registry as from 1st April 1988;
- (b) in the county of Shropshire from the Swansea to the Telford District Land Registry as from 1st April 1988;
- (c) in the counties of Lincolnshire, Norfolk and Suffolk from the Peterborough to the Kingston upon Hull District Land Registry as from 1st July 1988;
- (d) in the county of West Midlands from the Gloucester to the Coventry District Land Registry as from 1st October 1988;
- (e) in the county of Wiltshire from the Plymouth to the Gloucester District Land Registry as from 1 November 1988.

The areas of the remaining district registries at Birkenhead, Durham, Harrow, Lytham, Nottingham, Stevenage, Tunbridge Wells and Weymouth are unchanged.

The Order makes no change in the requirement that applications for registration shall be delivered at the appropriate district registry, as defined in the Order.