STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1987 No. 2136

PROBATION

The Combined Probation Areas (Nottinghamshire) Order 1987

Made - - - - 3rd December 1987 Coming into force - - 1st January 1988

In exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 54(4) of, and paragraph 1 of Schedule 3 to, the Powers of Criminal Courts Act 1973(1) and after the consultation required by that paragraph, I hereby make the following Order:

- **1.** This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (Nottinghamshire) Order 1987 and shall come into force on 1st January 1988.
- **2.** That Part of Schedule 2 to the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986(**2**) which relates to the Nottinghamshire Probation Committee shall be amended by omitting the entries in respect of the petty sessions areas of Bingham, Nottingham (City) and Nottingham (County) and by inserting in alphabetical order in column 1 "Nottingham" and corresponding to this in column 3 "12".
- **3.** The twelve justices appointed to be members of the Nottinghamshire Probation Committee by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Bingham, Nottingham (City) and Nottingham (County) before those divisions were abolished and a new division formed known as the Nottingham division shall continue to hold office as members of that Committee, as if they had been appointed by the justices for that new division, until 30th November 1989 and shall then cease to hold office but shall be eligible for re-appointment.

Home Office 3rd December 1987 Douglas Hurd
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of
State

^{(1) 1973} c. 62

⁽²⁾ S.I. 1986/1713, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986 to take account of the abolition of the petty sessional divisions of Bingham, Nottingham (City) and Nottingham (County) and the formation of the new petty sessional division of Nottingham, effected by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Nottinghamshire) Order 1987 (S.I.1987/1797) which comes into force on 1st January 1988.