STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1987 No. 1855

PROBATION

The Combined Probation Areas (Lancashire) Order 1987

Made - - - - 22nd October 1987 Coming into force - - 1st January 1988

In exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 54(4) of, and paragraph 1 of Schedule 3 to, the Powers of Criminal Courts Act 1973(1) and after the consultation required by that paragraph, I hereby make the following Order:

- **1.** This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (Lancashire) Order 1987 and shall come into force on 1st January 1988.
- **2.** That part of Schedule 2 to the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986(2) which relates to the Lancashire Probation Committee shall be amended by omitting the entries in respect of the petty sessions areas of Accrington and Church and by inserting in alphabetical order in column 1 "Hyndburn" and corresponding to this in column 3 "3".
- **3.** The three justices appointed to be members of the Lancashire Probation Committee by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Accrington and Church before those divisions were combined to form a new division known as the Hyndburn division shall continue to hold office as members of that Committee, as if they had been appointed by the justices for that new division, until 30th November 1989 and shall then cease to hold office but shall be eligible for re-appointment.

Home Office

Douglas Hurd
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of
State

22nd October 1987

⁽**1**) 1973 c. 62.

⁽²⁾ S.I. 1986/1713, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986 to take account of the combination of the petty sessional divisions of Accrington and Church in the new petty sessional division of Hyndburn, effected by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Lancashire) Order 1987 (S.I.1987/1688) which comes into force on 1st January 1988.