STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1987 No. 176

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of Carmarthen (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1987

Made - - - - 10th February 1987

Coming into force in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 58(1) of the Local Government Act 1972,(1) the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales on 13th November 1986 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of Carmarthen:

And whereas in giving effect to those proposals I have decided to make certain modifications:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 58(2) and 67 of that Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the District of Carmarthen (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1987.

2. This Order shall come into force on 7th May 1987, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day it shall come into force forthwith.

3.—(1) The existing wards of the District of Carmarthen shall be abolished and that district shall be divided into twenty-six wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the areas specified in column 2 of that Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1, which areas are:—

- (a) in the case of a ward of a community, the areas demarcated by green lines on the boundary map referred to in the Carmarthen (Communities) Order 1986(2) and designated on that map by reference to the names of the wards of the communities as set out in column 2 of Schedule 2 to that Order, and
- (b) in the case of a community, the areas demarcated by red lines on the boundary map referred to in the Carmarthen (Communities) Order 1986 and designated on that map by reference to the names of the communities as set out in paragraphs (1), (2) and (4) of Article 6 of that Order.

^{(1) 1972} c. 70.

⁽²⁾ S.I.1986/2008.

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the Schedule to this Order opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

4. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of Carmarthen shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1987 and every fourth year thereafter.

5. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or alteration of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into force of this Order.

Home Office 10th February 1987 Douglas Hurd One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State

SCHEDULE

Article 3

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

1	2	3
Name of New Ward	Area of New Ward	Number of Councillors
Abergwili	The Communities of Abergwili and Llanllawddog	1
Carmarthen Town North	The North ward of the Community of Carmarthen	4
Carmarthen Town South	The South ward of the Community of Carmarthen	2
Carmarthen Town West	The West ward of the Community of Carmarthen	3
Cenarth	The Communities of Cenarth and Newcastle Emlyn	1
Clynderwen	The Communities of Cilymaenllwyd and Clynderwen	1
Cynwyl Elfed	The Communities of Cynwyl Elfed and Llanpumsaint	1
Gorslas	The Community of Gorslas	2
Laugharne Township	The Community of Laugharne Township	1
Llanboidy	The Communities of Henllanfallteg, Llanboidy and Llangynin	1
Llanddarog	The Communities of Llanarthney and Llanddarog	1
Llanddowror	The Communities of Eglwyscummin, Llanddowror and Pendine	1
Llandyfaelog	The Community of Llandyfaelog	1
Llanfihangel-ar-Arth	The Community of Llanfihangel-ar-Arth	1
Llangeler	The Community of Llangeler	2
Llangunnor	The Community of Llangunnor	2
Llangyndeyrn	The Community of Llangyndeyrn	2
Llanllwni	The Communities of Llanfihangel Rhos-y-Corn and Llanllwni	1

Document Generated: 2023-12-15 Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

1	2	3
Name of New Ward	Area of New Ward	Number of Councillors
Llansteffan	The Communities of Llangain, Llangynog and Llansteffan	1
Llanybydder	The Community of Llanybydder	1
Newchurch	The Communities of Bronwydd and Newchurch and Merthyr	1
Pencarreg	The Communities of Llanycrwys and Pencarreg	1
St. Clears	The Communities of Meidrim and St. Clears	2
St. Ishmael	The Community of St. Ishmael	1
Trelech	The Communities of Abernant, Llanwinio and Trelech	1
Whitland	The Community of Whitland	1