## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order establishes, under section 22 of the Petroleum Act 1987, safety zones, having a radius of 500 metres from a specified point, around the installations specified in the Schedule to the Order and stationed in waters to which section 21(7) of that Act applies (these include territorial waters and waters in areas designated under section 1(7) of the Continental Shelf Act 1964 (c. 29)).

Vessels (which for this purpose include hovercraft, submersible apparatus and installations in transit) are prohibited from entering or remaining in a safety zone except with the consent of the Secretary of State or in accordance with regulations made under section 23(1) of the Act (currently the Offshore Installations (Safety Zones) Regulations 1987 (S.I.1987/1331)).