### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 1986 No. 945

# **PROBATION**

## The Combined Probation Areas (Dyfed) Order 1986

Made	-	-	-	6th June 1986
Coming	into O	perati	on	1st July 1986

In exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 54(4) of, and paragraph 1 of Schedule 3 to, the Powers of Criminal Courts Act 1973(a) and after the consultation required by that paragraph, I hereby make the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (Dyfed) Order 1986 and shall come into operation on 1st July 1986.

2. Schedule 2 to the Combined Probation Areas Order 1974(b) shall be amended by substituting for the entry in respect of Dyfed the following entry:---

Column 1 Petty Sessions Area	Column 2 Probation Area	Column 3 Number of justices on probation committee
Carmarthen South Carmarthen North Ceredigion Ganol Cleddau De Ceredigion Dinefwr Gogledd Ceredigion Gogledd Preseli Llanelli South Pembrokeshire	Dyfed	4 2 3 2 3 3 2 3 3 3 3

3. The four members of the Dyfed Probation Committee appointed by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Carmarthen, St. Clears and Whitland before those divisions were combined to form a new division known as the Carmarthen South Division, the two members of that Committee appointed by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Newcastle Emlyn and Pencader

<sup>(</sup>a) 1973 c.62; paragraph 1 of Schedule 3 was extended by Article 3 of the Combined Probation Areas Order 1974 (S.I. 1974/529; the designation "Probation and After-Care Areas" was changed by section 65(1) of the Criminal Justice Act 1982 (c.48)).

<sup>(</sup>b) S.I. 1974/529; the relevant amending instrument is S.I. 1984/1628.

before those divisions were combined to form a new division known as the Carmarthen North division, the three members of that Committee appointed by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Dewsland Haverfordwest and Milford Haven before those divisions were combined to form a new division known as the Cleddau division, the three members of that Committee appointed by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Amman Valley, Llandeilo and Llandovery before those divisions were combined to form a new division known as the Dinefwr division, the two members of that Committee appointed by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Cemaes and Fishguard before those divisions were combined to form a new division known as the Gogledd Preseli division and the three members of that Committee appointed by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Narberth, Pembroke and Tenby before those divisions were combined to form a new division known as the South Pembrokeshire division shall all continue to hold office as members of that Committee, as if they had been appointed by the justices for the relevant new division, until 30th November 1986 and shall then cease to hold office but shall be eligible for re-appointment.

> Douglas Hurd, One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 6th June 1986.

#### EXPLANATORY NOTE

#### (This Note is not part of the Order.)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1974 to take account of the reorganisation of a number of petty sessional divisions in the County of Dyfed effected by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Dyfed) Order 1986 (S.I. 1986/765) which comes into operation on 1st July 1986.

> Printed in the UK for HMSO by Burrup Mathieson & Co., Ltd. 790 BM43988X J23 C8 6/86

> > 45p net

ISBN 0 11 066945 2