STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1986 No. 754

COUNTY COURTS

The Civil Courts (Amendment) Order 1986

Made - - - - 24th April 1986
Laid before Parliament 1st May 1986
Coming into Operation 28th May 1986

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the power conferred on him by section 2(1) of the County Courts Act 1984, hereby makes the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Civil Courts (Amendment) Order 1986 and shall come into operation on 28th May 1986.
- **2.** The Barrow-in-Furness and Ulverston County Court shall be known as the Barrow-in-Furness County Court and the Bletchley and Leighton Buzzard County Court shall be known as the Milton Keynes County Court.
- **3.** No process shall be invalid only because the court is described therein by the name by which it was known before the coming into operation of this Order.
 - 4. The Civil Courts Order 1983(1), shall be amended as follows:—
 - (a) in Schedule 3, the entry relating to Bletchley shall be removed from its present position and inserted after the entry relating to Middlesbrough, and for the word Bletchley shall be substituted the words Milton Keynes;
 - (b) for Schedule 4, there shall be substituted the Schedule set out in the Schedule to this Order.

Dated 24th April 1986

Hailsham of St. Marylebone, C

SCHEDULE

SCHEDULE 4

Article 4

- 1. The name of the county court at Aldershot shall be the Aldershot and Farnham County Court.
- **2.** The name of the county court at Ashton-under-Lyne shall be the Ashton-under-Lyne and Stalybridge County Court.
 - 3. The name of the county court at Axminster shall be the Axminster and Chard County Court.
 - **4.** The name of the county court at Brecon shall be the Brecknock County Court.
 - **5.** The name of the county court at Camborne shall be the Camborne and Redruth County Court.
 - **6.** The name of the county court at Chatham shall be the Medway County Court.
- 7. The name of the county court for the City of London shall be the Mayor's and City of London Court.
 - 8. The name of the county court at Colchester shall be the Colchester and Clacton County Court.
 - 9. The name of the county court at Colwyn Bay shall be the Conwy and Colwyn County Court.
 - 10. The name of the county court at Grimsby shall be the Great Grimsby County Court.
 - 11. The name of the county court at Margate shall be the Thanet County Court.
 - 12. The name of the county court at Neath shall be the Neath and Port Talbot County Court.
 - 13. The name of the county court at Redhill shall be the Reigate County Court.
- **14.** The name of the county court at Welshpool shall be the Welshpool and Newtown County Court.
 - 15. The name of the county court at West Kensington shall be the West London County Court.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This Order:

- (a) changes the names of the Barrow-in-Furness and Ulverston County Court and of the Bletchley and Leighton Buzzard County Court, the latter consequent upon its removal to new premises within its existing district in Milton Keynes; and
- (b) revises the Schedule of county courts whose designated names differ from the place in which they are held.