1986 No. 556

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of Monmouth (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1986

Made - - - 19th March 1986 Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 58(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales on 14th November 1985 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of Monmouth:

And whereas in giving effect to those proposals I have decided to make certain modifications:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 58(2) and 67 of that Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the District of Monmouth (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1986.

2. This Order shall come into operation on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 1987 (within the meaning of section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(b)) except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day it shall come into operation on 10th October 1986.

3.—(1) The existing wards of the District of Monmouth shall be abolished and that district shall be divided into thirty-six wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the areas specified in column 2 of that Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1, which areas are:—

- (a) in the case of a ward of a community, the areas demarcated by green lines on the boundary map referred to in the Monmouth (Communities) Order 1986(c) and designated on that map by reference to the names of the wards of the communities as set out in column 2 of Schedule 1 to that Order, and
- (b) in the case of a community, the areas demarcated by red lines on the boundary map referred to in the Monmouth (Communities) Order 1986 and designated on that map by reference to the names of the communities as set out in paragraphs (1), (2), (3) and (5) of Article 5 of that Order.

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the Schedule to this Order opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

4. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of Monmouth shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1987 and every fourth year thereafter.

Douglas Hurd, One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 19th March 1986.

Article 3.

SCHEDULE

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

l Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Caerwent	The Communities of Caerwent and Mathern	1
Caldicot Castle	The Caldicot Castle ward of the Community of Caldicot	1
Cantref	The Cantref ward of the Community of Abergavenny	2
Castle and Grofield	The Castle and Grofield ward of the Community of Abergavenny	1
Croesonen	The Croesonen East and Croesonen West wards of the Community of Llantilio Pertholey	1
Crucorney	The Communities of Crucorney and Grosmont	1
Dewstow	The Dewstow ward of the Community of Caldicot	1
Goetre Fawr	The Community of Goetre Fawr	1
Lansdown	The Lansdown ward of the Community of Abergavenny	1
Larkfield	The Larkfield ward of the Community of Chepstow	1
Llanbadoc	The Communities of Gwehelog Fawr and Llanbadoc	1

SCHEDULE (continued)

1	2	3 Number of
Name of New Ward	Area of New Ward	Councillors
Llanfoist Fawr	The Llanellen, Llanfoist and Llanwenarth Citra wards of the Community of Llanfoist Fawr	1
Llangybi Fawr	The Communities of Llangybi, Llanhennock and Llantrisant Fawr	1
Llanover	The Communities of Llanarth and Llanover	1
Llantilio Crossenny	The Communities of Llangattock- Vibon-Avel and Llantilio Crossenny	1
Llanwenarth Ultra	The Llanwenarth Ultra ward of the Community of Llanfoist Fawr	1
Magor with Undy	The Community of Magor with Undy	2
Mardy	The Mardy, Pantygelli, Sgyrrid East and Sgyrrid West wards of the Community of Llantilio Pertholey	1
Mitchel Troy	The Community of Mitchel Troy	1
Overmonnow	The Overmonnow ward of the Community of Monmouth	1
Portskewett	The Community of Portskewett	1
Priory	The Priory ward of the Community of Abergavenny	1
Raglan	The Community of Raglan	1
Rogiet	The Community of Rogiet	1
Severn	The Green Lane and Severn wards of the Community of Caldicot	2
Shirenewton	The Communities of Devauden, Llangwm and Shirenewton	1
St. Arvans	The Communities of St. Arvans and Tintern	1
St. Christopher's	The St. Christopher's ward of the Community of Chepstow	1
St. Kingsmark	The St. Kingsmark ward of the Community of Chepstow	1
St. Mary's	The St. Mary's ward of the Community of Chepstow	1
Thornwell	The Thornwell ward of the Community of Chepstow	1
Trellech United	The Community of Trellech United	1

SCHEDULE (continued)

1 Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Usk	The Community of Usk	1
Vauxhall	The Drybridge, Osbaston and Town wards of the Community of Monmouth	2
West End	The West End ward of the Community of Caldicot	1
Wyesham	The Wyesham ward of the Community of Monmouth	1

Printed in the UK for HMSO by Unwin Brothers Ltd. 790/06041 F92 C9 4/86 80p net ISBN 0 11 066556 2