1986 No. 535

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Borough of Lliw Valley (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1986

Made - - - - 13th March 1986

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 58(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales on 7th November 1985 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the Borough of Lliw Valley:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 58(2) and 67 of that Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Borough of Lliw Valley (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1986.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 1987 (within the meaning of section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(b)) except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day it shall come into operation on 10th October 1986.
- 3.—(1) The existing wards of the Borough of Lliw Valley shall be abolished and that borough shall be divided into twenty-six wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the areas specified in column 2 of that Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1, which areas are:—
 - (a) in the case of a ward of a community, the areas demarcated by green lines on the boundary map referred to in the Lliw Valley (Communities) Order 1985(c) and designated on that map by reference to the names of the wards of the communities as set out in column 2 of Schedule 1 to that Order, and
 - (b) in the case of a community, the areas demarcated by red lines on the boundary map referred to in the Lliw Valley (Communities) Order 1985 and designated on that map by reference to the names of the communities as set out in paragraphs (1) and (3) of Article 6 of that Order.

- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the Schedule to this Order opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- 4. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the Borough of Lliw Valley shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1987 and every fourth year thereafter.

Douglas Hurd,
One of Her Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 13th March 1986.

SCHEDULE

Names and Areas of and Numbers of Councillors for New Wards

1 Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Allt-wen	The Allt-wen ward of the Community of Cilybebyll	1
Clydach	The Clydach and Glais wards of the Community of Clydach	1
Cwmllynfell	The Community of Cwmllynfell	1
Dulais East	The Dulais East and Goppa wards of the Community of Pontardulais	1
Godre'r graig	The Godre'r graig ward of the Community of Ystalyfera	1
Gorseinon Central	The Gorseinon Central ward of the Community of Gorseinon	1
Gorseinon East	The Gorseinon East ward of the Community of Gorseinon	1
Gowerton East	The Gowerton East ward of the Community of Gowerton	1
Gowerton West	The Gowerton West ward of the Community of Gowerton	1
Graigfelen	The Graigfelen ward of the Community of Clydach	1
Gwaun-Cae-Gurwen	The Cwmgors and Gwaun-Cae-Gurwen wards of the Community of Gwaun-Cae-Gurwen	1
Kingsbridge	The Garden Village and Kingsbridge wards of the Community of Llwchwr	2
Llangyfelach	The Communities of Llangyfelach and Pont-	2
Lower Brynamman	The Lower Brynamman and Tai'r Gwaith wards of the Community of Gwaun-Cae-Gurwen	1
Lower Loughor	The Lower Loughor ward of the Community of Llwchwr	1
Mawr	The Community of Mawr	1
Penllergaer	The Community of Penllergaer	1
Penyrheol	The Community of Grovesend and the Gorseinon West and Penyrheol wards of the Community of Gorseinon	2
Pontardawe	The Pontardawe and Rhyd-y-fro wards of the Community of Pontardawe	3
Pontardulais	The Dulais West and Pentrebach wards of the Community of Pontardulais	1
Rhos	The Gellinudd and Rhos wards of the Community of Cilybebyll	1
Tal-y-bont	The Tal-y-bont ward of the Community of Pontardulais	1
Trebanos	The Trebanos ward of the Community of Pontardawe	1

SCHEDULE (continued)

1 Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Upper Loughor	The Upper Loughor ward of the Community of Llwchwr	2
Vardre	The Vardre ward of the Community of Clydach	1
Ystalyfera	The Ystalyfera ward of the Community of Ystalyfera	2

Printed for Her Majesty's Stationery Office by J. W. Arrowsmith Ltd. 790 A1293 F75 C9 3/86

80p net

ISBN 0 11 066535 X