STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1986 No. 2231

REPRESENTATION OF THE PEOPLE

REDISTRIBUTION OF SEATS

The Parliamentary Constituencies (Wales) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1986

Laid before Parliament in draft

Made - - - 16th December 1986 Coming into Operation 30th December 1986

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 16th day of December 1986

Present,

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Whereas in pursuance of section 2(3) of the House of Commons (Redistribution of Seats) Act 1949(a) the Boundary Commission for Wales have submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated 2nd July 1986 with respect to the areas comprised in certain constituencies in Wales and showing the constituencies into which they recommend, in accordance with the House of Commons (Redistribution of Seats) Acts 1949 and 1958(b), that the areas should be divided:

And whereas the Secretary of State has laid that report before Parliament together with the draft of this Order in Council to give effect to the recommendations contained in the report and each House of Parliament has by resolution approved the said draft:

Now, therefore, Her Majesty, in pursuance of section 3 of the House of Commons (Redistribution of Seats) Act 1949, is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:—

- 1.— (1) This Order may be cited as the Parliamentary Constituencies (Wales) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1986.
 - (2) Subject to the proviso to section 3(6) of the House of Commons

⁽a) 1949 c.66.

(Redistribution of Seats) Act 1949, this Order shall come into operation on the fourteenth day after the day on which it is made.

- 2. For the county constituencies of Alvn and Deeside, Caernarfon, Clwyd North West, Clwyd South West, Conwy, Delyn, Meirionnydd Nant Conwy, Montgomery and Wrexham, as constituted by the Schedule to the Parliamentary Constituencies (Wales) Order 1983(a) (and described by reference to local government areas as they existed on 21st January 1983 or, in the case of the constituencies of Clwyd North West and Delyn, 5th May 1983), there shall be substituted the county constituencies which are named on the left-hand side of the Schedule to this Order and comprise the areas set out on the right-hand side, which areas are:-
 - (a) in the case of the District of Montgomeryshire, that district as it would have existed on 2nd July 1986 if the Radnor (Communities) Order 1982(b) had not come into operation:
 - (b) in the case of wards in the Boroughs of Aberconwy, Arfon and Wrexham Maelor, those wards as they will exist on 7th May 1987 when the Borough of Aberconwy (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1984(c), the Borough of Arfon (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1984(d) and the Borough of Wrexham Maelor (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1985(e) come into operation, and
 - (c) in the case of the remaining areas, local government areas as they existed on 2nd July 1986 (and accordingly as altered by the Borough of Colwyn (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1983(f) and the Borough of Rhuddlan (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1982(g) and the Alyn and Deeside (Communities) Order 1984(h), the Glyndŵr (Communities) Order 1984(i) and the Meirionnydd (Communities) Order 1984(i)).
- 3. Each electoral registration officer for the constituencies referred to in Article 2 above shall make such re-arrangement or adaptation of the register of parliamentary electors as may be necessary to give effect to this Order.

G. I. de Denev. Clerk of the Privy Council.

⁽a) S.I. 1983/418.

⁽d) S.I. 1984/1799.

S.I. 1982/590. S.I. 1984/797.

⁽b) S.I. 1982/1776. (e) S.I. 1985/580.

⁽c) S.I. 1984/757.

⁽h) S.I. 1984/1782.

⁽f) S.I. 1983/447. (i) S.I. 1984/739.

Article 2.

SCHEDULE

Name

Contents

CLWYD

Alyn and Deeside

- (i) The District of Alyn and Deeside; and
- (ii) the following ward of the Borough of Wrexham Maelor, namely, Llay.

Clwyd North West

- (i) The following wards of the Borough of Colwyn, namely, Betws yn Rhos, Colwyn, Dinarth, Eirias, Gele, Glyn, Kimmel Bay, Llanddulas, Llysfaen, Mochdre, Pentre Mawr, Rhiw, Rhos and Towyn; and
- (ii) the following wards of the Borough of Rhuddlan, namely, Bodelwyddan, Dyserth, Rhuddlan, Rhyl East, Rhyl South, Rhyl South East, Rhyl South West, Rhyl West, St. Asaph East, St. Asaph West and Tremeirchion.

Clwyd South West

- (i) The following wards of the Borough of Colwyn, namely, Llanfair Talhaiarn, Llangernyw, Llansannan, Trefnant and Uwchaled;
- (ii) the District of Glyndŵr; and
- (iii) the following wards of the Borough of Wrexham Maelor, namely, Cefn, Esclusham, Johnstown, Minera, Pant, Penycae, Plas Madoc, Ponciau and Ruabon.

Delyn

- (i) The Borough of Delyn; and
- (ii) the following wards of the Borough of Rhuddlan, namely, Meliden, Prestatyn Central, Prestatyn East, Prestatyn North and Prestatyn South West.

Wrexham

The following wards of the Borough of Wrexham Maelor, namely, Acton, Borras Park, Bronington, Brymbo, Bryn Cefn, Caia Park, Coedpoeth, Garden Village, Gresford East and West, Grosvenor, Gwenfro, Gwersyllt East and South, Gwersyllt North, Gwersyllt West, Holt, Little Acton, Maesydre, Marchwiel, Marford and Hoseley, New Broughton, Offa East, Offa West, Overton, Queensway, Rhosnesni, Rossett, Stansty and Whitegate.

Name

Contents

GWYNEDD

Caernarfon

- (i) The following wards of the Borough of Arfon, namely, Bethel, Bontnewydd, Cadnant, Deiniolen, Llanberis, Llandwrog, Llanllyfni, Llanrug, Llanwnda, Menai (Caernarfon), Peblig, Penisarwaun, Penygroes, Seiont, Talysarn, Waunfawr and Y Felinheli; and
- (ii) the District of Dwyfor.

Conwy

- (i) The following wards of the Borough of Aberconwy, namely, Bryn, Bryn Rhys, Caerhun, Capelulo, Conwy, Craig-y-Don, Deganwy, Fforddlas, Gogarth, Lafan, Marl, Mostyn, Pandy, Pant-yr-afon, Penmaenan, Penrhyn, Pensarn and Tudno; and
- (ii) the following wards of the Borough of Arfon, namely, Deiniol, Dewi, Garth, Gerlan, Glyder, Hendre, Hirael, Llandygai, Llanllechid/Aber, Marchog, Menai (Bangor), Ogwen, Pentir and Rachub.

Meirionnydd Nant Conwy

- (i) The following wards of the Borough of Aberconwy, namely, Betws-y-Coed, Bro Machno, Crwst, Eglwysbach, Gower, Trefriw and Uwch Conwy; and
- (ii) the District of Meirionnydd.

POWYS

Montgomery

The District of Montgomeryshire.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This Note is not part of the Order.)

This Order gives effect without modification to the recommendations contained in the report of the Boundary Commission for Wales dated 2nd July 1986. The report contains proposals for changes to the areas of certain parliamentary constituencies where local government area changes have resulted in inconsistencies between local government boundaries and the boundaries of parliamentary constituencies. Article 2 of, and the Schedule to, the Order set out and describe the new constituencies, the boundaries of which will be consistent with the revised local government boundaries. By virtue of the proviso to section 3(6) of the House of Commons (Redistribution of Seats) Act 1949, the new constituencies will only have effect as from the next parliamentary general election.