Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format. The electronic version of this UK Statutory Instrument has been contributed by Westlaw and is taken from the printed publication. **Read more**

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1986 No. 1137

PREVENTION AND SUPPRESSION OF TERRORISM

The Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 (Designation of Countries) (No. 2) Order 1986

Made	2nd July 1986
Laid before Parliament	14th July 1986
Coming into Operation	26th August 1986

In exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 8 of the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978, I hereby make the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 (Designation of Countries) (No. 2) Order 1986 and shall come into operation on 26th August 1986.

2. Italy and Liechtenstein are hereby designated as parties to the European Convention on the Suppression of Terrorism signed at Strasbourg on 27th January 1977.

Douglas Hurd One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State Home Office

2nd July 1986

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This Order designates Italy and Liechtenstein for the purposes of the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 so that they become convention countries within the meaning of the Act.

The two countries are parties to the European Convention on the Suppression of Terrorism. The following countries have now been designated for the purposes of the Act: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Federal Republic of Germany (and Berlin (West)), Iceland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Turkey.