### 1985 No. 56

### LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

#### CHANGES IN LOCAL GOVERNMENT AREAS

The Hereford and Worcester (Areas) Order 1985

Made	-	17th January 1985
Laid before Parliament		28th January 1985
Coming into Operation—		
in article 2(1)	-	28th February 1985
for all other purposes	-	1 <i>st April</i> 1985

Whereas the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, acting pursuant to sections 47 and 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), has made proposals to the Secretary of State for certain alterations in the boundaries of the districts of Leominster, Malvern Hills, South Herefordshire, Wychavon and Wyre Forest, and for the re-alignment of a parish boundary in the district of Wychavon:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those proposals:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of his powers under sections 51(2) and 67(4) of that Act and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following order:—

#### Title and commencement

1. This order may be cited as the Hereford and Worcester (Areas) Order 1985.

2.— (1) 28th February 1985 is hereby specified as the day on which this order shall come into operation for any purpose set out in regulation 4(1) (coming into operation of order) of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976(b).

(2) For all other purposes, this order shall come into operation on 1st April 1985.

#### Interpretation

3. In this order—

<sup>(</sup>a) 1972 c.70.

<sup>(</sup>b) S.I. 1976/246, as amended by S.I. 1978/247.

"the boundary maps" means the 8 maps (duly numbered for reference) which are issued by the Department of the Environment as "Maps of the Hereford and Worcester (Areas) Order 1985"; and

"county electoral division" means an electoral division of the county of Hereford and Worcester.

#### Transfers between districts

4. Areas shall be transferred between districts in accordance with the information shown in the columns of the Schedule to this order. Each area (of a district and of a parish named in column (1)) marked as indicated in column (2) on the boundary map referred to in column (3) shall be transferred—

- (a) to the relevant district, parish and parish ward (if any) mentioned in column (4);
- (b) to the relevant district ward mentioned in column (5); and
- (c) to the county electoral division in column (6).

Where there is mentioned in relation to any area a petty sessional division in column (7) or a coroner's district in column (8), that area shall also be transferred to that division or district.

#### Transfer between parishes in Wychavon

5. That part of the parish of Norton juxta Kempsey which is shown coloured green and marked P on boundary map 2 shall be transferred to the parish of Drakes Broughton and Wadborough, to the Drakes Broughton ward of the district of Wychavon, and to the Pershore Town county electoral division.

#### Town and Country Planning

6. Any provisions of any local plan which has been adopted by the council of the district from which an area is transferred by article 4 shall, insofar as they apply to the transferred area have effect as if they were provisions of a local plan adopted by the council of the district to which the area is transferred.

## SCHEDULE

# TRANSFERS BETWEEN DISTRICTS (Article 4)

					the second s	and the second sec		
	(1) District and parish (shown in brackets) from which area is transferred	(2) Marking of area on boundary maps	(3) Reference numbers of relevant boundary maps	(4) District, parish (shown in brackets), and parish ward (if any) to which area is transferred	(5) District ward to which area is transferred	(6) County electoral division to which area is transferred	(7) Petty Sessional division to which area is transferred (if any)	(8) Coroner's district to which area is transferred (if any)
-	Malvern Hills (Astley and Dunley)	Al	5	Wychavon (Hartlebury)	Hartlebury	Droitwich Rural	_	-
	Malvern Hills (Astley and Dunley)	A2	7	Wyre Forest (Stourport-on-Severn parish: Areley Kings West ward)	Areley Kings	Severn		Hereford and Worcester North Eastern
	Malvern Hills (Kempsey)	A3	2	Wychavon (Drakes Broughton and Wadborough)	Drakes Broughton	Pershore Town	Pershore	_
	Malvern Hills (Kempsey)	A4	2	Wychavon (Norton juxta Kempsey)	Spetchley	Bowbrook	_	—
	Malvern Hills (Pencombe with Grendon Warren)	A5	4	Leominster (Humber)	Hatfield	Leominster Rural	Leominster and Wigmore	-
	Malvern Hills (Shelsley Kings)	A6	1	Leominster (Stanford with Orleton)	Valley of the Teme	Tenbury		Hereford and Worcester Western
	Malvern Hills (Woolhope)	A7	8	South Herefordshire (Brockhampton)	Fownhope	Ross Rural	Ross	-

٠

ŝ

# SCHEDULE (continued)

.

.

# TRANSFERS BETWEEN DISTRICTS (Article 4)

(1) District and parish (shown in brackets) from which area is transferred	(2) Marking of area on boundary maps	(3) Reference numbers of relevant boundary maps	(4) District, parish (shown in brackets), and parish ward (if any) to which area is transferred	(5) District ward to which area is transferred	(6) County electoral division to which area is transferred	(7) Petty Sessional division to which area is transferred (if any)	(8) Coroner's district to which area is transferred (if any)
Malvern Hills (Yarkhill)	A8 A9 A10 A11	6	South Herefordshire (Weston Beggard)	Hagley	Thinghill	Hereford (County)	
South Herefordshire (Westhide)	A12	3	Malvern Hills (Yarkhill)	Frome	Hope End	Ledbury	<del>.</del>
South Herefordshire (Weston Beggard)	A13 A14 A15	6	Malvern Hills (Yarkhill)	Frome	Hope End	Ledbury	-
Wychavon (Norton juxta Kempsey)	A16) A17)	2	Malvern Hills (Kempsey)	Kempsey	Croome		_
Wyre Forest (Stourport-on- Severn)	A18	5	Wychavon (Hartlebury)	Hartlebury	Droitwich Rural		Worcester and Hereford Central

Patrick Jenkin, Secretary of State for the Environment.

17th January 1985.

#### EXPLANATORY NOTE

#### (This note is not part of the order.)

This order makes minor alterations in the boundaries of the districts of Leominster, Malvern Hills, South Herefordshire, Wychavon and Wyre Forest, and re-aligns a parish boundary in the district of Wychavon.

The map forming part of this note (page 6) gives a general guide to the areas affected by this order as from 1st April 1985. Prints of the detailed boundary maps, which form part of the order and are referred to in article 3, may be inspected at the offices of the district councils, and may be purchased from the Department of the Environment's Map Library, 2 Marsham Street, London SW1.

Consequential changes in local government electoral areas are made.

The Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976, mentioned in article 2(1), contain further provision about the effect and implementation of orders such as the present one.

