STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1985 No. 42

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

CHANGES IN LOCAL GOVERNMENT AREAS

The Durham and Easington (Areas) Order 1985

Made	16th January 1985
Laid before Parliament	28th January 1985
Coming into Operation—	
for the purposes described in article 2(1)	
in article 2(1)	28th February 1985
for all other purposes	1 <i>st April</i> 1985

Whereas the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, acting pursuant to sections 47 and 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), has made proposals to the Secretary of State for the transfer of two areas from the city of Durham to the district of Easington:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those proposals:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of his powers under sections 51(1) and 67(4) of that Act and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following order:—

Title and commencement

1. This order may be cited as the Durham and Easington (Areas) Order 1985.

2.— (1) 28th February 1985 is hereby specified as the day on which this order shall come into operation for any purpose set out in regulation 4(1) (coming into operation of order) of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976(b).

(2) For all other purposes, this order shall come into operation on 1st April 1985.

Interpretation

3. In this order—

"the boundary map" means the map issued by the Department of the

(a) 1972 c.70.

[DET 3465]

⁽b) S.I. 1976/246 as amended by S.I. 1978/247.

Environment as the "Map of the Durham and Easington (Areas) Order 1985"; and

"county electoral division" means an electoral division of the county of Durham.

· Changes in areas

4. The areas of the parish of Shadforth marked A1 and A2 on the boundary map shall be transferred from the city of Durham to the district of Easington, and to the Easington petty sessional division.

The area marked A1 shall be transferred to the parish of Shotton, to the Shotton ward of that district, and to the Shotton county electoral division.

The area marked A2 shall be transferred to the parish of Wheatley Hill, to the Wheatley Hill ward of that district, and to the Thornley county electoral division.

Town and Country Planning

5. Any provisions of any local plan which has been adopted by the Durham City Council shall, insofar as they are applicable to any area transferred by article 4, have effect as if they were a local plan adopted by the Easington District Council.

Patrick Jenkin, Secretary of State for the Environment.

16th January 1985.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the order.)

This order transfers two areas of the parish of Shadforth in the city of Durham to the district of Easington, and to the parishes of Shotton and Wheatley Hill respectively. The map forming part of this note (page 3) gives a general guide to the areas affected by this order as from 1st April 1985.

Prints of the detailed boundary map, which forms part of the order and is referred to in article 3 may be inspected at the offices of the city and district councils, and may be purchased from the Department of the Environment's Map Library, 2 Marsham Street, London SW1.

Consequential changes to local government electoral areas are made.

The Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976, mentioned in article 2(1), contain further provisions about the effect and implementation of orders such as the present one.

