STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1985 No. 1965

PROBATION

The Combined Probation Areas (Lincolnshire) Order 1985

Made -Coming into Operation 12th December 1985 1st January 1986

In exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 54(4) of, and paragraph 1 of Schedule 3 to, the Powers of Criminal Courts Act 1973(a) and after the consultation required by that paragraph, I hereby make the following Order:-

- This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (Lincolnshire) Order 1985 and shall come into operation on 1st January 1986.
- That part of Schedule 2 to the Combined Probation Areas Order 1974(b) which relates to the Lincolnshire Probation Committee shall be amended by-
 - (a) omitting the entries in respect of the petty sessions areas of Lincoln (Kesteven) and Lindsey (Lincoln and Wragby); and
 - (b) inserting in alphabetical order in column 1 "Lincoln (County)" and corresponding to this in column 3 "3".
- The three justices appointed to be members of the Lincolnshire Probation Committee by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Lincoln (Kesteven) and Lindsey (Lincoln and Wragby) before those divisions were combined to form a new division known as the Lincoln (County) division shall continue to hold office as members of that Committee, as if they had been appointed by the justices for the new division, until 30th November 1986 and shall then cease to hold office but shall be eligible for reappointment.

Douglas Hurd, One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 12th December 1985.

 ⁽a) 1973 c. 62; paragraph 1 of Schedule 3 was extended by Article 3 of the Combined Probation Areas Order 1974 (S.I. 1974/529; the designation "Probation and After-Care Areas" was changed by section 65(1) of the Criminal Justice Act 1982 (c.48)).
(b) S.I. 1974/529; the relevant amending instrument is S.I. 1983/1845.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This Note is not part of the Order.)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1974 to take account of the combination of the petty sessional divisions of Lincoln (Kesteven) and Lindsey (Lincoln and Wragby) in the new petty sessional division of Lincoln (County) effected by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Lincolnshire) Order 1985 (S.I. 1985/1796) which comes into operation on 1st January 1986.