1985 No. 1609

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Borough of Taff-Ely (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1985

Made - - - - 17th October 1985

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 58(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales on 7th July 1983 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the Borough of Taff-Ely:

And whereas in giving effect to those proposals I have decided to make certain modifications:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 58(2) and 67 of that Act, I hereby make the following order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Borough of Taff-Ely (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1985.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 1987 (within the meaning of section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(b)) except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day it shall come into operation on 10th October 1986.
- 3.—(1) The existing wards of the Borough of Taff-Ely shall be abolished and that borough shall be divided into twenty-eight wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified in column 2 of that Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1, except that the areas of the Church Village, Cilfynydd, Creigiau, Glyncoch, Graig, Hawthorn, Ilan, Llantwit Fardre, Pentyrch, Pontypridd Town, Rhondda, Rhydfelen Central, Rhydfelen Lower, Ton-teg, Trallwng and Treforest wards are the areas demarcated by green lines on the boundary map referred to in the Taff-Ely (Communities) Order 1984(c) and designated on that map by reference to the names of the wards of the Communities of Llantwit Fardre, Pentyrch and Pontypridd as set out in column (2) of Schedule 1 to that Order.

- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the Schedule to this Order opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- 4. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the Borough of Taff-Ely shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1987 and every fourth year thereafter.

Douglas Hurd,
One of Her Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 17th October 1985.

SCHEDULE Article 3.

Names and Areas of and Numbers of Councillors for New Wards

l Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Beddau	The Beddau ward of the Community of Llantrisant	2
Brynna	The Brynna and Llanilid wards of the Community of Llanharan	1
Church Village	The Church Village ward of the Community of Llantwit Fardre	1
Cilfynydd	The Cilfynydd ward of the Community of Pontypridd	1
Creigiau	The Creigiau ward of the Community of Pentyrch	1
Gilfach Goch	The Community of Gilfach Goch	2
Glyncoch	The Glyncoch ward of the Community of Pontypridd	1
Graig	The Graig ward of the Community of Pontypridd	2
Hawthorn	The Hawthorn ward of the Community of Pontypridd	1
Ilan	The Ilan ward of the Community of Pontypridd	1
Llanharan	The Llanharan ward of the Community of Llanharan	1
Llanharry	The Community of Llanharry	1
Llantrisant Town	The Town ward of the Community of Llantrisant	2
Llantwit Fardre	The Efail Isaf and Llantwit Fardre wards of the Community of Llantwit Fardre	2
Pentyrch	The Gwaelodygarth and Pentyrch wards of the Community of Pentyrch	1
Pont-y-Clun	The Community of Pont-y-Clun	2

SCHEDULE (continued)

1 Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Pontypridd Town	The Town ward of the Community of Pontypridd	1
Rhondda	The Rhondda ward of the Community of Pontypridd	2
Rhydfelen Central	The Rhydfelen Central ward of the Community of Pontypridd	1
Rhydfelen Lower	The Rhydfelen Lower ward of the Community of Pontypridd	1
Taffs Well	The Community of Taffs Well	2
Talbot Green	The Talbot Green ward of the Community of Llantrisant	1
Ton-teg	The Ton-teg ward of the Community of Llantwit Fardre	2
Tonyrefail East	The Coedely, Collena and Tylcha wards of the Community of Tonyrefail	3
Tonyrefail West	The Penrhiw-fer, Thomastown and Tynybrŷn wards of the Community of Tonyrefail	2
Trallwng	The Trallwng ward of the Community of Pontypridd	2
Treforest	The Treforest ward of the Community of Pontypridd	2
Tyn-y-nant	The Tyn-y-nant ward of the Community of Llantrisant	2

Printed for Her Majesty's Stationery Office by J. W. Arrowsmith Ltd. 790 A1186 Q28 C9 10/85

80p net