STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1984 No. 1628

PROBATION

The Combined Probation Areas (Dyfed) Order 1984

Made - - - Coming into Operation

16th October 1984 1st January 1985

In exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 54(4) of, and paragraph 1 of Schedule 3 to, the Powers of Criminal Courts Act 1973(a) and after the consultation required by that paragraph, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (Dyfed) Order 1984 and shall come into operation on 1st January 1985.
- 2. That part of Schedule 2 to the Combined Probation Areas Order 1974(b) which relates to the Dyfed Probation Committee shall be amended by omitting the entries in respect of the petty sessions areas of Aberayron, Aberystwyth, Cardigan, Dewsland, Haverfordwest, Lampeter, Llandyssul, Rhydlewis and Tregaron and inserting in alphabetical order—
 - (a) in column 1 "Ceredigion Ganol" and corresponding to this in column 3 "3":
 - (b) in column 1 "De Ceredigion" and corresponding to this in column 3 "2":
 - (c) in column 1 "Dewsland Haverfordwest" and corresponding to this in column 3 "2"; and
 - (d) in column 1 "Gogledd Ceredigion" and corresponding to this in column 3 "3".
- 3.— (1) The three justices appointed to be members of the Dyfed Probation Committee by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Aberayron, Lampeter and Llandyssul before those divisions were combined to form a new division known as the Ceredigion Ganol division shall continue to hold office as members of that Committee, as if they had been appointed by the justices for the new division, until 30th November 1986 and shall then cease to hold office but shall be eligible for re-appointment.
- (2) The two justices appointed to be members of that Committee by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Cardigan and Rhydlewis before

⁽a) 1973 c.62; paragraph 1 of Schedule 3 was extended by Article 3 of the Combined Probation Areas Order 1974 (S.I. 1974/529; the designation "Probation and After-Care Areas" was changed by section 65(1) of the Criminal Justice Act 1982 (c.48)).

(b) S.I. 1974/529, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

those divisions were combined to form a new division known as the De Ceredigion division shall continue to hold office as members of that Committee, as if they had been appointed by the justices for the new division, until 30th November 1986 and shall then cease to hold office but shall be eligible for re-appointment.

- (3) The two justices appointed to be members of that Committee by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Dewsland and Haverfordwest before those divisions were combined to form a new division known as the Dewsland Haverfordwest division shall continue to hold office as members of that Committee, as if they had been appointed by the justices for the new division, until 30th November 1986 and shall then cease to hold office but shall be eligible for re-appointment.
- (4) The three justices appointed to be members of that Committee by the justices for the petty sessional divisions of Aberystwyth and Tregaron before those divisions were combined to form a new division known as the Gogledd Ceredigion division shall continue to hold office as members of that Committee, as if they had been appointed by the justices for the new division, until 30th November 1986 and shall then cease to hold office but shall be eligible for re-appointment.

Leon Brittan,
One of Her Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 16th October 1984.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This Note is not part of the Order.)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1974 to take account of the combination of the petty sessional divisions of Aberayron, Lampeter and Llandyssul in the new petty sessional division of Ceredigion Ganol, the combination of the petty sessional divisions of Cardigan and Rhydlewis in the new petty sessional division of De Ceredigion, the combination of the petty sessional divisions of Dewsland and Haverfordwest in the new petty sessional division of Dewsland Haverfordwest and the combination of the petty sessional divisions of Aberystwyth and Tregaron in the new petty sessional division of Gogledd Ceredigion, effected by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Dyfed) Order 1984 (S.I. 1984/1528) which comes into operation on 1st January 1985.

Printed in the UK for Her Majesty's Stationery Office
790/B842453G O88 C9 10/84
35p net
ISBN 0 11 047628 X