STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1982 No. 97

AGRICULTURE

The Agricultural Land Tribunals (Areas) Order 1982

Made	29th January 1982
Laid before Parliament	8th February 1982
Coming into Operation	2nd March 1982

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 73(1) of the Agriculture Act 1947, hereby makes the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the Agricultural Land Tribunals (Areas) Order 1982 and shall come into operation on 2nd March 1982.

2.—(1) For the purposes of section 73 of the Agriculture Act 1947 there shall be eight areas as specified in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order.

(2) Each area shall comprise the counties and the London Boroughs which are set out in respect of it in column 2 of the said Schedule.

(3) For the purposes of the preceding paragraph and of the said Schedule the Isles of Scilly shall be treated as if they were a county.

3. Any proceedings which on the coming into operation of this Order are pending before an Agricultural Land Tribunal may thereafter be continued before the Agricultural Land Tribunal for the area in which the whole or the greater part of the agricultural holding to which the proceedings relate is situate, and that tribunal shall have power to hear and determine them.

4. The Agricultural Land Tribunals (Areas) Order 1974 and the Agricultural Land Tribunals (Areas) (Amendment) Order 1976 are hereby revoked.

Dated 29th January 1982

Hailsham of St. Marylebone, C

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format. The electronic version of this UK Statutory Instrument has been contributed by Westlaw and is taken from the printed publication. Read more

Column 1	Column 2
Areas	Counties and London Boroughs Cleveland
Cumbria	Cloveland
Durham	
Northumberland	
Tyne and Wear	
Yorkshire and Humberside	Humberside
North Yorkshire	Tuniocistae
South Yorkshire	
West Yorkshire	
Eastern	Bedfordshire
Cambridgeshire	
Essex	
Hertfordshire	
Lincolnshire	
Norfolk	
Northamptonshire	
Suffolk	
London Boroughs north of the river Thames except Richmond upon Thames	
Midlands	Derbyshire
Herefordshire and Worcestershire	
Leicestershire	
Nottinghamshire	
Warwickshire	
West Midlands	
Western	Cheshire
Greater Manchester	
Lancashire	
Merseyside	
Shropshire	
Staffordshire	
South Western	Avon
Cornwall	

SCHEDULE

Document Generated: 2023-07-09

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format. The electronic version of this UK Statutory Instrument has been contributed by Westlaw and is taken from the printed publication. **Read more**

Column 1	Column 2
Areas	Counties and London Boroughs
Devon	
Dorset	
Gloucestershire	
Somerset	
Wiltshire	
Isles of Scilly	
South Eastern	Berkshire
Buckinghamshire	
East Sussex	
Hampshire	
Isle of Wight	
Kent	
Oxfordshire	
Surrey	
West Sussex	
London Boroughs south of the river Thames including Richmond upon Thames	
Welsh	Clwyd
Dyfed	
Gwent	
Gwynedd	
Mid Glamorgan	
Powys	
South Glamorgan	
West Glamorgan	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This Order constitutes new areas for Agricultural Land Tribunals. The Yorkshire and Lancashire, East Midland and West Midland Areas cease to exist and the counties formerly included in those areas become part of the areas to be known as Yorkshire and Humberside, Midlands, Western and Eastern.