STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1982 No. 935

INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT

The Derelict Land Clearance Areas Order 1982

Made	8th July 1982
Laid before Parliament	9th July 1982
Coming into Operation	1st August 1982

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 8(6) and (7) of the Local Employment Act 1972 and now vested in him(1), hereby makes the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the Derelict Land Clearance Areas Order 1982 and shall come into operation on 1st August 1982.

2. The employment office areas described in the Schedule to this Order are hereby specified as derelict land clearance areas for the purposes of the Local Employment Act 1972.

8th July 1982

Patrick Jenkin Secretary of State for Industry

(1) See articles 2(3) and 5(5) of the Secretary of State (New Departments) Order 1974 (S.I. 1974/692).

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format. The electronic version of this UK Statutory Instrument has been contributed by Westlaw and is taken from the printed publication. **Read more**

SCHEDULE

Article 2

NEW DERELICT LAND CLEARANCE AREAS

The employment office areas of-Accrington Alfreton Altrincham Ashton-Under-Lyne Bamber Bridge Barnoldswick Barrow-in-Furness Batley Bedworth Berwick-on-Tweed Beswick Blackburn Bramley Brighouse Burnley Bury Buxton Carlisle Castleford Chapeltown Chester Chesterfield Chorley Clay Cross Clitheroe Colne Congleton Crewe Crossgates Darwen Denton Dewsbury Didsbury Dinnington Dronfield Droylsden

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format. The electronic version of this UK Statutory Instrument has been contributed by Westlaw and is taken from the printed publication. **Read more**

Eccles Eckington Elland Failsworth Firth Park Glossop Great Harwood Halifax Haltwhistle Heanor Hemsworth Hexham Heywood Horsforth Huddersfield Hunslet Hyde Irlam Keighley Knottingley Leeds Leyland Longsight Macclesfield Manchester Marple Middleton Morley Mossley Moss Side Nantwich Nelson New Mills Newton Heath Newton-Le-Willows Normanton Nuneaton Oldham and Chadderton Ormskirk Otley

Padiham Pontefract Preston Prestwich Radcliffe Rothwell Royton Salford Sandbach Seacroft Sheffield Skelmersdale (excluding that part which lies within the designated area of Skelmersdale New Town(2)) South Elmsall Sowerby Bridge Spen Valley Stalybridge Staveley Stockport Stretford Sutton-in-Ashfield Swinton Todmorden Ulverston Wakefield Warrington Wetherby Wilmslow Woodhouse Worksop Worsley Wythenshawe Yeadon

⁽²⁾ See the Skelmersdale New Town (Designation) Order 1961 (S.I. 1961/1918) as amended by S.I. 1969/127.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This Order specifies as derelict land clearance areas the employment office areas set out in the Schedule.

Employment office areas are areas specified by the Manpower Services Commission as areas for each of which a specified office of the Commission exercises functions (see s. 1(4) of the Local Employment Act 1972 as amended by paragraph 12 of Schedule 3 to the Employment and Training Act 1973 (c. 50) and paragraph 6 of Part II of Schedule 2 to the Employment and Training Act 1981 (c. 57)).