1982 No. 606

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Borough of Vale of Glamorgan (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1982

Made - - - - 28th April 1982

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 58(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a) the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales on 9th March 1982 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the Borough of Vale of Glamorgan:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 58(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Borough of Vale of Glamorgan (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1982.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on 5th May 1983 except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1982.
- 3.—(1) The existing wards of the Borough of Vale of Glamorgan shall be abolished and the said borough shall be divided into twenty-one wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified in column 2 of that Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in the said column 1, except that the areas of the Baruc, Buttrills, Cadoc, Castleland, Court, Dyfan, Gibbonsdown and Illtyd wards are the areas demarcated by green lines on the boundary map referred to in the Vale of Glamorgan (Communities) Order 1982(b) and designated on that map by reference to the names of the wards of the Town of Barry as set out in column (2) of Schedule 2 to that Order.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the Schedule to this Order opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

4. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the Borough of Vale of Glamorgan shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1983 and every fourth year thereafter.

W. S. I. Whitelaw,
One of Her Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 28th April 1982.

SCHEDULE

Article 3

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

1 Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Alexandra	The Plymouth and St. Augustine's wards of the community of Penarth	5
Baruc	The Baruc ward of the community of Barry	2
Buttrills	The Buttrills ward of the community of Barry	2
Cadoc	The Cadoc ward of the community of Barry	3
Castleland	The Castleland ward of the community of Barry	2
Cornerswell	The Cornerswell ward of the community of Penarth	2
Court	The Court ward of the community of Barry	2
Cowbridge	The communities of Cowbridge with Llanblethian, Llanfair and Penllyn	3
Dinas Powys	The communities of Dinas Powys and Michaelston	4
Dyfan	The Dyfan ward of the community of Barry	2
Gibbonsdown	The Gibbonsdown ward of the Community of Barry	2
Illtyd	The Illtyd ward of the community of	3
Llandough	Barry The community of Llandough	1
Llandow	The communities of Colwinston, Llandow and Llangan	1
Llantwit Major	The communities of Llan-maes, Llantwit Major and St. Donats	4
Peterson-super-Ely	The communities of Pendoylan, Peterston-super-Ely, St. Georges-super-Ely and Welsh St. Donats	1
Rhoose	The communities of Llancarfan and Rhoose	2
St. Athan	The community of St. Athan	1

SCHEDULE (continued)

1 Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Stanwell	The Stanwell ward of the community of Penarth	2
Sully	The community of Sully	1
Wenvoe	The communities of St. Nicholas and Wenvoe	1