STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1982 No. 1395

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of Dwyfor (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1982

Made - - 29th September 1982

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 58(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a) the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales on 13th July 1982 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of Dwyfor:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 58(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the District of Dwyfor (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1982.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on 5th May 1983 except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1982.
- 3.—(1) The existing wards of the District of Dwyfor shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into twenty-four wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified in column 2 of that Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in the said column 1, except that the areas of the Abererch. Abersoch. Efail-newydd, Gest. Llanarmon. Llanystumdwy, Porthmadog East, Porthmadog West, Pwllheli North, Pwllheli South and Tremadog wards are the areas demarcated by green lines on the boundary map referred to in the Dwyfor (Communities) Order 1981(b) and designated on that map by reference to the names of the wards of the communities of Llanengan, Llannor, Llanystumdwy, Porthmadog and Pwllheli as set out in column (2) of the Schedule to that Order.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the Schedule to this Order opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

4. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of Dwyfor shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1983 and every fourth year thereafter.

W. S. I. Whitelaw,
One of Her Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 29th September 1982.

Names and Areas of and Numbers of Councillors for New Wards

1 Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Aberdaron	The Community of Aberdaron	1
Abererch	The Abererch and Y Ffôr wards of the	
	Community of Llannor	1
Abersoch	The Abersoch ward of the Community of	
	Llanengan	1
Beddgelert	The Community of Beddgelert	1
Botwnnog	The Community of Botwnnog	1
Buan	The Community of Buan	1
Clynnog	The Community of Clynnog	1
Criccieth	The Community of Criccieth	2
Dolbenmaen	The Community of Dolbenmaen	1
Efail-newydd	The Efail-newydd and Pentre-uchaf wards	
	of the Community of Llannor	1
Gest	The Gest and Morfa Bychan wards of the	
	Community of Porthmadog	1
Llanaelhaearn	The Community of Llanaelhaearn	1
Llanarmon	The Llanarmon and Llangybi wards of the	
	Community of Llanystumdwy	1
Llanbedrog	The Community of Llanbedrog	1
Llanengan	The Llanengan and Llangian wards of the	
	Community of Llanengan	1
Llanystumdwy	The Llanystumdwy and Rhoslan wards of	
	the Community of Llanystumdwy	1
Nefyn	The Community of Nefyn	3
Pistyll	The Community of Pistyll	1
Porthmadog East	The East ward of the Community of	
	Porthmadog	1
Porthmadog West	The West ward of the Community of	
	Porthmadog	1
Pwllheli North	The North ward of the Community of	
	Pwllheli	2
Pwllheli South	The South ward of the Community of	
	Pwllheli	2
Tremadog	The Tremadog and Ynys Galch wards of	_
	the Community of Porthmadog	1
Tudweiliog	The Community of Tudweiliog	ī