**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format. The electronic version of this UK Statutory Instrument has been contributed by Westlaw and is taken from the printed publication. **Read more** 

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1981 No. 1507

## PREVENTION AND SUPPRESSION OF TERRORISM

The Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 (Designation of Countries) (No. 2) Order 1981

Made	22nd October 1981
Laid before Parliament	2nd November 1981
Coming into Operation	12th December 1981

In exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 8 of the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978, I hereby make the following Order:—

**1.** This Order may be cited as the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 (Designation of Countries) (No. 2) Order 1981 and shall come into operation on 12th December 1981.

**2.** Luxembourg is hereby designated as a party to the European Convention on the Suppression of Terrorism signed at Strasbourg on 27th January 1977.

*W. S. I. Whitelaw* One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State Home Office

22nd October 1981

## EXPLANATORY NOTE

This Order designates Luxembourg for the purposes of the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 so that it becomes a convention country within the meaning of the Act. Luxembourg is a party to the European Convention on the Suppression of Terrorism. The following countries have now been designated for the purposes of the Act: Austria, Cyprus, Denmark, Federal Republic of Germany (and Berlin (West)), Iceland, Luxembourg, Norway, Spain, Sweden and Turkey.