## STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1981 No. 1389

## PREVENTION AND SUPPRESSION OF TERRORISM

The Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 (Designation of Countries) Order 1981

Made - - - - 28th September 1981
Laid before Parliament 6th October 1981
Coming into Operation 1st November 1981

In exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 8 of the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 (Designation of Countries) Order 1981 and shall come into operation on 1st November 1981.
- **2.** Spain and the Republic of Turkey are hereby designated as parties to the European Convention on the Suppression of Terrorism signed at Strasbourg on 27th January 1977.

W.S.I. Whitelaw
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of
State
Home Office

28th September 1981

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format. The electronic version of this UK Statutory Instrument has been contributed by Westlaw and is taken from the printed publication. Read more

## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

This Order designates Spain and the Republic of Turkey for the purposes of the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 so that they become convention countries within the meaning of the Act. They are both parties to the European Convention on the Suppression of Terrorism. The following countries have now been designated for the purposes of the Act: Austria, Cyprus, Denmark, Federal Republic of Germany (and Berlin (West)), Iceland, Norway, Spain, Sweden and Turkey.