1980 No. 1343 LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of South Oxfordshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980

Made - - - - 3rd September 1980

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 25th June 1980 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of South Oxfordshire:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the District of South Oxfordshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980.

2. This Order shall come into operation on 5th May 1983 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1982.

3.—(1) The existing wards of the District of South Oxfordshire shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into thirty-four wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule.

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

4. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of South Oxfordshire shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1983 and every fourth year thereafter.

W. S. I. Whitelaw, One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 3rd September 1980.

Article 3.

SCHEDULE

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

1	2	3
Name of New Ward	Area of New Ward	Number of Councillors
Aston Rowant	The parishes of Adwell, Aston Rowant, Crowell, Lewknor, Stoke Talmage, Sydenham, Tetsworth and Wheatfield	1
Benson	The parishes of Benson and Ewelme	2
Berinsfield	The parish of Berinsfield	1
Brightwell	The parishes of Brightwell-cum- Sotwell, Little Wittenham and Long Wittenham	1
Chalgrove	The parishes of Berrick Salome, Brightwell Baldwin, Britwell, Chalgrove, Cuxham with Easington, Newington and Stadhampton	2
Chinnor	The parish of Chinnor	2
Cholsey	The parishes of Cholsey and Moulsford	2
Clifton Hampden	The parishes of Clifton Hampden, Culham, Marsh Baldon, Nuneham Courtenay, Sandford-on-Thames and Toot Baldon	1
Crowmarsh	The parishes of Checkendon, Crowmarsh, Ipsden and Stoke Row	1
Didcot North	The All Saints and the Georgetown wards of the parish of Didcot	2
Didcot Northbourne	The Northbourne ward of the parish of Didcot	1
Didcot South	The Greenmere and the Park wards of the parish of Didcot	3
Dorchester	The parishes of Dorchester, Drayton St. Leonard and Warborough	1
Forest Hill	The parishes of Beckley and Stowood, Elsfield, Forest Hill with Shotover, Stanton St. John and Woodeaton	1

SCHEDULE (continued)

1	2	3
Name of New Ward	Area of New Ward	Number of Councillors
Garsington	The parishes of Cuddesdon and Denton and Garsington	1
Goring	The parishes of Goring and South Stoke	2
Goring Heath	The parishes of Goring Heath, Mapledurham and Whitchurch	1
Great Milton	The parishes of Great Haseley, Great Milton, Little Milton and Tiddington- with-Albury	1
Hagbourne	The parishes of Aston Tirrold, Aston Upthorpe, East Hagbourne, North Moreton, South Moreton and West Hagbourne	1
Henley	The parish of Henley-on-Thames	5
Kidmore End	The parishes of Eye and Dunsden and Kidmore End	1
Littlemore	The parish of Littlemore and the detached part of the parish of Littlemore	3
Marston	The parish of Marston	2
Nettlebed	The parishes of Bix, Nettlebed, Nuffield, Pishill with Stonor and Swyncombe	1
Risinghurst	The parishes of Horspath and Risinghurst and Sandhills	2
Rotherfield Peppard	The parishes of Highmoor, Rotherfield Greys and Rotherfield Peppard	1
Shiplake	The parishes of Harpsden and Shiplake	1
Sonning Common	The parish of Sonning Common	2
Thame North	The parish of Towersey and the North ward of the parish of Thame	2

1 Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Thame South	The South ward of the parish of Thame	2
Wallingford	The parish of Wallingford	3
Watlington	The parishes of Pyrton, Shirburn and Watlington	1
Wheatley	The parishes of Holton, Thomley, Waterperry, Waterstock and Wheatley	2
Woodcote	The parish of Woodcote	1

SCHEDULE (continued)

Printed in England by Brown Knight & Truscott Ltd. and published by Her Majesty's Stationery Office 790/m 5 K6 9/80

> 70p net ISBN 0 11 007343 6