1979 No. 710

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Borough of Great Yarmouth (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1979

Made - - - - 20th June 1979

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 17th January 1979 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the Borough of Great Yarmouth:

And whereas in giving effect to those proposals I have decided to make certain modifications:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the Borough of Great Yarmouth (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1979.

2. This Order shall come into operation on 1st May 1980 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1979.

3. The map referred to in this Order is the map marked "MAP REFERRED TO IN THE BOROUGH OF GREAT YARMOUTH (ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS) ORDER 1979" and deposited with the Secretary of State.

4. The existing wards of the Borough of Great Yarmouth shall be abolished and the said borough shall be divided into twenty-one wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of Schedule 1 to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by blue lines thereon.

5. Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line thereof.

6. The number of councillors to be elected for each ward constituted by this Order shall be the number specified in column 2 of Schedule 1 to this Order opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

7.—(1) The wards constituted by this Order shall have the internal boundaries thereof mered by Ordnance Survey.

(2) Copies of the map, marked "COPY OF THE MAP REFERRED TO IN THE BOROUGH OF GREAT YARMOUTH (ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS) ORDER 1979", shall be deposited with the council of the Borough of Great Yarmouth and with the Director General of the Ordnance Survey and such copies shall at all reasonable times be open to inspection by any person.

8. Subject to the provisions of Article 9 below the election of councillors shall be by thirds.

9.—(1) The councillors who immediately before the coming into operation of this Order represent a ward as then constituted shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 1980.

(2) The whole number of councillors for each of the wards constituted by this Order shall be elected on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 1980.

(3) The order of retirement of the councillors elected in 1980 shall be as set out in Schedule 2 to this Order.

(4) Where the number of councillors elected in 1980 for any ward of the borough is two, the first to retire in that ward shall be, subject to paragraphs (6) and (7) below, the councillor elected by the smaller number of votes.

(5) Where the number of councillors elected in 1980 for any ward of the borough is three—

- (a) one-third shall retire in 1982 being, subject to paragraphs (6) and (7) below, the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes;
- (b) one-third shall retire in 1983 being, subject as aforesaid, the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes;
- (c) the remaining councillor shall retire in 1984.

(6) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any such year, the person to retire in that year shall be determined by lot.

(7) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in each such year shall be determined by lot.

(8) Where under this Article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot shall be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen, and the drawing shall be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.

(9) Except as otherwise provided in the foregoing paragraphs of this Article the term of office of councillors shall be four years, and all councillors shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors for the borough in the year of retirement and the newly elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.

10.—(1) The ordinary elections of parish councillors elected in 1979 for any parish or ward of a parish situated in the Bradwell North and Bradwell South and Hopton wards of the borough shall take place in 1982 and thereafter ordinary elections shall take place every fourth year.

(2) The ordinary elections of parish councillors elected in 1979 for any parish or ward of a parish situated in the Hemsby, Martham and Winterton and Somerton wards of the borough shall take place in 1984 and thereafter ordinary elections shall take place every fourth year.

(3) The parish councillors to whom the foregoing paragraphs of this Article apply shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of parish councillors in the year of retirement and the newly elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.

> W. S. I. Whitelaw, One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 20th June 1979.

Articles 4 and 6.

SCHEDULE 1

1 Name of New Ward					2 Number of Councillors
Bradwell North	•••	•••			2
Bradwell South a	nd Hop	ton	•••		2
Caister North	•••	•••	•••		2
Caister South		•••	•••		2
Claydon	•••	•••	•••		3
Fleggburgh	•••	•••	•••		1
Gorleston	•••	•••			3
Hemsby	•••	•••	•••		1
Lichfield and Col	bholm	•••	•••		3
Lothingland	•••	•••	•••		3
Magdalen East	•••	•••	•••		3
Magdalen West	•••	•••	•••		3
Martham	•••	•••	••••		1
Nelson		•••	•••		3
Northgate	•••	•••	•••		3
Ormesby	•••		•••		2
Regent	•••		•••		3
Rollesby		•••			1
St. Andrews	•••	•••	•••		3
Winterton and Se	omerton		•••		1
Yarmouth North	· • • • ·	•••	•••		3

NAMES OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

SCHEDULE 2

ORDER OF RETIREMENT OF COUNCILLORS

Name of Ward	Number of Councillors to retire in 1982	Number of Councillors to retire in 1983	Number of Councillors to retire in 1984	
Bradwell North	1	0	1	
Bradwell South and Hopton	1	0	1	
Caister North	1	1	0	
Caister South	1	1	0	
Claydon	1	1	1	
Fleggburgh	0	1	0	
Gorleston	1	1	1	
Hemsby	0	0	1	
Lichfield and Cobholm	1	1	1	
Lothingland	1	1	1	
Magdalen East	1	1	1	
Magdalen West	1	1	1	
Martham	0	0	1	
Nelson	1	1	1	
Northgate	1	1	1	
Ormesby	1	1	0	
Regent	1	1	1	
Rollesby	0	1	0	
St. Andrews	1	1	1	
Winterton and Somerton	0	0	1	
Yarmouth North	1	1	1	