1979 No. 1264

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of Sedgefield (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1979

Made - - - 5th October 1979

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 3rd February 1978 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of Sedgefield:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the District of Sedgefield (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1979.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on 5th May 1983 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1982.
- 3.—(1) The existing wards of the District of Sedgefield shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into twenty-two wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- 4. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of Sedgefield shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1983 and every fourth year thereafter.

W. S. I. Whitelaw,
One of Her Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State,

Home Office. 5th October 1979.

Article 3. SCHEDULE

Names and Areas of and Numbers of Councillors for New Wards

1	2	3 Number of
Name of New Ward	Area of New Ward	Councillors
Bishop Middleham	The parishes of Bishop Middleham and Mainsforth	1
Broom	The East Howle and Broom wards of the parish of Ferryhill	3
Byerley	The Auckland Terrace and Byerley wards of the parish of Shildon	2
Chilton	The parishes of Chilton and Windlestone	3
Cornforth	The parish of Cornforth	2
Ferryhill	The Dean Bank and Ferryhill wards of the parish of Ferryhill	3
Fishburn	The parish of Fishburn	1
Low Spennymoor and Tudhoe Grange	The Low Spennymoorand Tudhoe Grange wards of the parish of Spennymoor	3
Middlestone	The Byers Green, Merrington and Middlestone wards of the parish of Spennymoor	3
Middridge	The Middridge ward of the parish of Shildon	2
Neville	The Aycliffe Village ward and Newton Aycliffe No. 1 ward of the parish of Great Aycliffe	2
New Trimdon and Trimdon Grange	The New Trimdon and Trimdon Grange wards of the parish of Trimdon	1
Old Trimdon	The Old Trimdon ward of the parish of Trimdon	2
Sedgefield	The parishes of Bradbury and The Isle, Butterwick and Oldacres, Elstob, Embleton, Foxton and Shotton, Mordon, Preston-le-Skerne, Sedgefield and Stillington	3
Shafto	The Newton Aycliffe No. 3 ward of the parish of Great Aycliffe	2
Simpasture	The Newton Aycliffe No. 2 ward of the parish of Great Aycliffe	1

SCHEDULE-(continued)

1 Name of New Ward			2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Spennymoor	•••	•••	The Spennymoor ward of the parish of Spennymoor	3
Sunnydale	•••	•••	The Central, Eldon and Sunnydale wards of the parish of Shildon	2
Thickley	•••	•••	The Thickley ward of the parish of Shildon	3
Tudhoe	•••	•••	The Tudhoe ward of the parish of Spennymoor	2
West	•••	•••	The Newton Aycliffe No. 5 ward of the parish of Great Aycliffe	3
Woodham	•••	•••	The Newton Aycliffe No. 4 ward of the parish of Great Aycliffe and the parish of Woodham	2