STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1979 No. 1108

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of West Wiltshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1979

Made - - - - 30th August 1979

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 14th June 1979 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of West Wiltshire:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:---

1. This Order may be cited as the District of West Wiltshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1979.

2. This Order shall come into operation on 5th May 1983 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1982.

3.—(1) The existing wards of the District of West Wiltshire shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into twenty-eight wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule.

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

4. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of West Wiltshire shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of nonmetropolitan district councillors in 1983 and every fourth year thereafter.

> W. S. I. Whitelaw, One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 30th August 1979.

Article 3.

SCHEDULE

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

1 2 3		
Name of New Ward	Area of New Ward	Number of Councillors
Adcroft	The Adcroft ward of the parish of Trow- bridge	2
Blackmore Forest	The Beanacre, Blackmore and Woolmore ward of the parish of Melksham With- out, and the Lands common to the parishes of Broughton Gifford and Melksham Without	1
Bradford-on-Avon North	The North ward of the parish of Brad- ford-on-Avon	2
Bradford-on-Avon South	The South ward of the parish of Brad- ford-on-Avon	2
College	The College ward of the parish of Trow- bridge	2
Corsley	The parishes of Chapmanslade, Corsley and Upton Scudamore	1
Dilton Marsh	The parish of Dilton Marsh	1
Drynham	The Drynham ward of the parish of Trowbridge	2
Ethandune	The parishes of Bratton, Coulston and Edington	1
Holt	The parishes of Broughton Gifford, Holt and South Wraxall	1
John O'Gaunt	The John O'Gaunt ward of the parish of Trowbridge	2
Manor Vale	The parishes of Limpley Stoke, Monkton Farleigh, Westwood and Winsley	2
Melksham Forest	The Forest ward of the parish of Melk- sham	1
Melksham Lambourne	The Lambourne ward of the parish of Melksham	1
Melksham Roundpond	The Roundpond ward of the parish of Melksham	1
Melksham Town	The Town ward of the parish of Melk- sham	1
Melksham Without- Woodrow	The Woodrow ward of the parish of Melksham Without	1
Mid Wylye Valley	The parishes of Boyton, Chitterne, Cod- ford, Sherrington, Stockton and Upton Lovell	1
Park	The Park ward of the parish of Trow- bridge and the Green Lane ward of the parish of Steeple Ashton	2

SCHEDULE—(Continued)

1 Name of New W	ard	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Paxcroft	•••	The parishes of Hilperton and Staverton	1
Shearwater		The parishes of Brixton Deverill, Horning- sham, Kingston Deverill and Longbridge Deverill	1
Summerham	•••	The Village ward of the parish of Steeple Ashton and the parishes of Bulkington, Great Hinton, Keevil and Semington	1
Warminster East		The East ward of the parish of War- minster	3
Warminster West		The West ward of the parish of War- minster	3
Weavers		The Village ward of the parish of Hey- wood and the parishes of North Brad- ley, Southwick, West Ashton and Wingfield	2
Westbrook	•••	The Shaw and Whitley ward of the parish of Melksham Without and the parish of Atworth	1
Westbury with Storridge		The Storridge ward of the parish of Heywood and the parish of Westbury	3
Wylye Valley		The parishes of Bishopstrow, Heytes- bury, Imber, Knook, Norton Bavant and Sutton Veny	1

.

.