STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1978 No. 691

INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT

The Derelict Land Clearance Areas Order 1978

Made	9th May 1978
Laid before Parliament	18th May 1978
Coming into Operation	8th June 1978

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 8(6) and 18 of the Local Employment Act 1972 and now vested in him(1), hereby makes the following Order:—

1.—(1) The Interpretation Act 1889 shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies to the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.

(2) This Order may be cited as the Derelict Land Clearance Areas Order 1978 and shall come into operation on 8th June 1978.

2. The areas described in the Schedule to this Order are hereby specified as derelict land clearance areas for the purposes of the Local Employment Act 1972.

Dated 9th May 1978

Alan Williams Minister of State Department of Industry

SCHEDULE

NEW DERELICT LAND CLEARANCE AREAS

1. Such parts of the areas of the Greater London Council and the London Boroughs of Greenwich, Lewisham, Newham, Southwark and Tower Hamlets as fall within the area delineated on the map referred to in Article 3(1) of the Docklands Land Board Order 1977.

2. The employment office areas of—

Aldridge Aston Bilston Birmingham Brownhills Cannock Cradley Heath Darlaston Dudley Halesowen Handsworth Kingswinford Oldbury Small Heath Smethwick Stourbridge Tipton Walsall Washwood Heath Wednesbury Wednesfield West Bromwich Willenhall Wolverhampton

3. The employment office area of Swadlincote.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This Order specifies as derelict land clearance areas the areas set out in the Schedule.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format. The electronic version of this UK Statutory Instrument has been contributed by Westlaw and is taken from the printed publication. **Read more**

A copy of the map referred to in paragraph 1 of the Schedule is available for public inspection at all reasonable times and without payment at the principal offices of the Docklands Land Board, the Greater London Council and the Borough Councils of Greenwich, Lewisham, Newham, Southwark and Tower Hamlets. The map is signed by an Under Secretary in the Department of the Environment and marked "Map referred to in the Docklands Land Board Order 1977".