STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1978 No. 47

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of Teignbridge (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978

Made - - - 15th January 1978

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 20th September 1977 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of Teignbridge:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the District of Teignbridge (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978.

2. This Order shall come into operation on 3rd May 1979 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1978.

3. The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.

4.—(1) The existing wards of the District of Teignbridge shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into thirty-three wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule.

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

5. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of Teignbridge shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1979 and every fourth year thereafter.

Merlyn Rees, One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 15th January 1978.

(a) 1972 c. 70.

(b) 1889 c. 63.

Article 4.

SCHEDULE

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

		ri	
1		2	3 Number of
Name of New Ward		Area of New Ward	Councillors
Abbotskerswell	•••	The Abbotskerswell ward of the parish of Kerswells	1
Ambrook	•••	The parishes of Broadhempston, Ogwell, Torbryan and Woodland	1
Ashburton	•••	The parish of Ashburton	2
Bovey	•••	The parishes of Bovey Tracey and Lustleigh	3
Bradley	•••	The Bradley ward of the parish of Newton Abbot	3
Buckfastleigh	•••	The parish of Buckfastleigh	2
Buckland		The Buckland ward of the parish of Newton Abbot	2
Bushell	•••	The Bushell ward of the parish of Newton Abbot	2
Chudleigh	•••	The parishes of Chudleigh and Hennock	2
College	•••	The College ward of the parish of Newton Abbot	3
Dawlish Central	•••	The Central ward of the parish of Dawlish	2
Dawlish North East	•••	The Eastern ward and the Northern ward of the parish of Dawlish	2
Dawlish South West	•••	The Southern ward and the Western ward of the parish of Dawlish	2
Dunsford	•••	The parishes of Alphington (including detached part), Dunsford and Hol- combe Burnell	1
Haldon		The parishes of Bishopsteignton and Ideford	2
Haytor	•••	The parishes of Bickington and Ilsington	1
Ipplepen		The parish of Ipplepen	1
Kenn Valley	•••	The parishes of Dunchideock, Ide, Kenn and Shillingford St. George	1

SCHEDULE—continued

Article 4.

1		2	3 Number of
Name of New Ward		Area of New Ward	Councillors
Kingskerswell		The Kingskerswell ward of the parish of Kerswells	2
Kingsteignton East		The East ward of the parish of King- steignton	2
Kingsteignton West	•••	The parish of Teigngrace and the West ward of the parish of King- steignton	2
Milber		The Milber ward of the parish of Newton Abbot	2
Moorland	•••	The parishes of Buckland in the Moor, Manaton, North Bovey and Wide- combe in the Moor	1
Moretonhampstead		The parish of Moretonhampstead	1
Powderham		The parishes of Ashcombe, Exminster, Kenton, Mamhead and Powderham	3
Shaldon		The Shaldon ward of the parish of Teignmouth	1
Teignhydes		The parishes of Coffinswell, Haccombe with Combe and Stokeinteignhead	1
Teignmouth Central	•••	The Central ward of the parish of Teignmouth	2
Teignmouth East		The East ward of the parish of Teign- mouth	2
Teignmouth North		The North ward of the parish of Teignmouth	2
Teignmouth West		The West ward of the parish of Teignmouth	2
Teign Valley		The parishes of Ashton, Bridford, Christow, Doddiscombsleigh and Trusham	1
Whitestone		The parishes of Tedburn St. Mary and Whitestone	1