1978 No. 1814

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of Hambleton (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978

Made - - - 11th December 1978

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 19th September 1978 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of Hambleton:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the District of Hambleton (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978.

2. This Order shall come into operation on 3rd May 1979 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation forthwith.

3. The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.

4.—(1) The existing wards of the District of Hambleton shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into thirty-four wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule.

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

5. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of Hambleton shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1979 and every fourth year thereafter.

6. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or alteration of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into operation of this Order.

Merlyn Rees, One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 11th December 1978.

(a) 1972 c. 70.

(b) 1889 c. 63.

Article 4.

SCHEDULE

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

······			
1 Name of New	Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Appleton Wiske		The parishes of Appleton Wiske, East Harlsey, East Rounton, High Worsall, Low Worsall, Welbury and West Roun- ton	1
Bedale	••••	The parish of Bedale and the Aiskew ward of the parish of Aiskew	2
Brompton		The parish of Brompton	1
Broughton and G	Freenhow	The parishes of Bilsdale Midcable, Easby, Great and Little Broughton, Ingleby Greenhow, Kildale and Kirkby	1
Carlton Miniott		The parishes of Ainderby Quernhow, Carlton Miniott, Holme, Howe, Pickhill with Roxby, Sandhutton, Sinderby and Skipton-on-Swale	1
Crakehall		The parishes of Anderby Mires with Holtby, Burrill with Cowling, Clifton- on-Yore, Crakehall, Firby, Hackforth, Langthorne, Rand Grange, Rookwith, Snape with Thorp, Thirn and Thornton Watlass	1
Crayke	••• •••	The parishes of Coxwold, Crayke, Husth- waite, Newburgh, Oulston, Thornton- on-the-Hill and Yearsley	1
Easingwold	••••	The parish of Easingwold	2
Great Ayton	••• •••	The parishes of Great Ayton and Little Ayton	3
Helperby		The parishes of Birdforth, Brafferton, Fawdington, Helperby, Myton-on- Swale, Raskelf, Tholthorpe and Thor- manby	1
Hillside	••• •••	The parishes of Boltby, Borrowby, Cowes- by, Felixkirk, Kirby Knowle, Knayton with Brawith, Leake, North Kilvington, South Kilvington, Thornbrough and Upsall	1
Huby-Sutton	••• •••	The parishes of Huby and Sutton-on-the- Forest	1

SCHEDULE-(Continued)

1	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Name of New Ward		
Leeming	The parishes of Burneston, Exelby, Leem- ing and Newton, Gatenby, Swainby with Allerthorpe and Theakston	1
Leeming Bar	The parishes of Killerby, Kirkby Fleethem with Fencote, Scruton and the Leeming Bar ward of the parish of Aiskew	1
Morton-on-Swale	The parishes of Ainderby Steeple, Danby Wiske, Great Langton, Kiplin, Lazenby, Little Langton, Morton-on-Swale, North Otterington, Thrintoft, Warlaby, Whitwell and Yafforth	1
Northalierton North East	The North East ward of the parish of Northallerton	2
Northallerton South East	The South East ward of the parish of Northallerton	2
Northallerton West	The West ward of the parish of North- allerton	2
Osmotherley	The parishes of Ellerbeck, Kepwick, Kirby Sigston, Landmoth-cum-Catto, Nether Silton, Osmotherley, Over Silton, Sowerby-under-Cotcliffe, Thimbleby, West Harlsey and Winton, Stank and Hallikeld	1
Romanby	The Romanby ward of the parish of Romanby	2
Romanby Broomfield	The Romanby (Broomfield) ward of the parish of Romanby	1
Rudby	The parishes of Crathorne, Hutton Rudby, Middleton-on-Leven, Picton, Potto, Rudby, Sexhow and Skutterskelfe	2
Shipton	The parishes of Beningbrough, Linton-on- Ouse, Newton-on-Ouse, Shipton and Overton	1
Sowerby	The parish of Sowerby	2
Stillington	The parishes of Bransby-cum-Stearsby, Dalby-cum-Skewsby, Farlington, Marton-cum-Moxby, Stillington and Whenby	1
Stokesley	The parishes of Newby, Seamer and Stokesley	3

SCHEDULE-(Continued)

1 Name of New	v Ward	2 Area of New Ward The parishes of Carlton, Faceby, Great Busby, Ingleby Arncliffe, Little Busby and Whorlton	3 Number of Councillors
Swainby			
Tanfield		The parishes of Carthorpe, East Tanfield, Howgrave, Kirklington-cum-Upsland, Sutton with Howgrave, Well and West Tanfield	1
The Cowtons		The parishes of Birkby, Deighton, East Cowton, Girsby, Great Smeaton, Hornby, Hutton Bonville, Little Smea- ton, Over Dinsdale and South Cowton	1
The Thorntons		The parishes of Cotcliffe, Crosby, Kirby Wiske, Maunby, Newby Wiske, Newsham with Breckenbrough, South Otterington, Thornton-le-Beans, Thorn- ton-le-Moor and Thornton-le-Street	1
Thirsk		The parish of Thirsk	2
Tollerton		The parishes of Aldwark, Alne, Flawith, Tollerton and Youlton	1
Topcliffe		The parishes of Catton, Dalton, Eldmire with Crakehill, Hutton Sessay, Sessay and Topcliffe	1
Whitestonecliffe		The parishes of Angram Grange, Bagby, Balk, Carlton Husthwaite, Hood Grange, Kilburn High and Low, Sutton- under-Whitestonecliffe, Thirkleby High and Low with Osgodby, Thirlby and Wildon Grange	1

Printed in England by McCorquodale Printers Ltd., and published by Her Majesty's Stationery Office 17/P23477/2 P79 K12 12/78

20p net

ISBN 0 11 084814 4