1978 No. 1806

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of North Cornwall (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978

Made - - - - 7th December 1978

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 20th December 1977 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of North Cornwall:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the District of North Cornwall (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on 3rd May 1979 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation forthwith.
- 3. The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.
- 4.—(1) The existing wards of the District of North Cornwall shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into twenty-seven wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- 5. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of North Cornwall shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1979 and every fourth year thereafter.
- 6. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or alteration of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into operation of this Order.

Merlyn Rees,
One of Her Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 7th December 1978.

Article 4. SCHEDULE Names and Areas of and Numbers of Councillors for New Wards

1	2	3
Name of New Ward	Area of New Ward	Number of Councillors
Allan	The parishes of St. Kew and St. Mabyn	1
Altarnun	The parishes of Altarnun, Lewannick and North Hill	1
Bodmin St. Mary's	The St. Mary's ward of the parish of Bodmin	3
Bodmin St. Petroc	The St. Petroc ward of the parish of Bodmin	3
Bude and Poughill	The Bude and Poughill wards of the parish of Bude-Stratton	3
Camelford	The parishes of Advent and Camelford	1
Grenville	The parishes of Kilkhampton, Launcells and Morwenstow	1
Lanivet	The parishes of Lanivet and Withiel	1
Launceston North	The North ward of the parish of Launceston	2
Launceston South	The South ward of the parish of Launceston	2
Lesnewth	The parishes of Davidstow, Forrabury and Minster, Lesnewth, Otterham, St. Clether, St. Juliot and Trevalga	1
North Petherwin	The parishes of Boyton, North Petherwin, St. Stephens by Launceston Rural and Werrington	1
Ottery	The parishes of Egloskerry, Laneast, Tremaine, Treneglos, Tresmeer, Trewen and Warbstow	1
Padstow and St. Merryn	The parishes of Padstow and St. Merryn	2
Penfound	The parishes of Jacobstow, Poundstock and St. Gennys	1
Rumford	The parishes of St. Ervan, St. Eval and St. Issey	1
St. Breward	The parishes of Michaelstow, St. Breward and St. Tudy	1
St. Endellion	The parish of St. Endellion	1

SCHEDULE—continued

1 Name of New Ward		2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
St. Teath		The parish of St. Teath	1
South Petherwin	••	The parishes of Lawhitton Rural, St. Thomas the Apostle Rural and South Petherwin	1
Stokeclimsland		The parishes of Lezant and Stokeclimsland	1
Stratton		The Stratton ward of the parish of Bude- Stratton	1
Tintagel		The parish of Tintagel	1
Trigg	••	The parishes of Blisland, Cardinham, Helland and Lanhydrock	1
Wadebridge		The parishes of Egloshayle, St. Breock and Wadebridge	3
Week St. Mary	••	The parishes of Marhamchurch, North Tamerton, Week St. Mary and Whitstone	1
		Tamerton, Week St. Mary and Whitstone	1