1978 No. 1640

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of Wokingham (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978

Made - - - 10th November 1978 Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 9th August 1978 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of Wokingham:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the District of Wokingham (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on 3rd May 1979 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation forthwith.
- 3. The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.
- 4.—(1) The existing wards of the District of Wokingham shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into twenty-four wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of Schedule 1 to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified in column 2 of that Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in the said column 1.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule 1 opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- 5. Subject to the provisions of Article 6 below the election of councillors shall be by thirds.
- 6.—(1) The whole number of councillors shall be elected at the ordinary elections of councillors in 1979.
- (2) The order of retirement of the councillors elected in 1979 shall be as set out in Schedule 2 to this Order.

- (3) Where the number of councillors elected in 1979 for any ward of the district is two, the first to retire in that ward shall be, subject to paragraphs (5) and (6) below, the councillor elected by the smaller number of votes.
- (4) Where the number of councillors elected in 1979 for any ward of the district is three—
 - (a) one-third shall retire in 1980 being, subject to paragraphs (5) and (6) below, the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes:
 - (b) one-third shall retire in 1982 being, subject as aforesaid, the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes;
 - (c) the remaining councillor shall retire in 1983.
- (5) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any such year, the person to retire in that year shall be determined by lot.
- (6) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in each such year shall be determined by lot.
- (7) Where under this Article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot shall be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen, and the drawing shall be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.
- (8) Except as otherwise provided in the foregoing paragraphs of this Article the term of office of councillors shall be four years, and all councillors shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors for the district in the year of retirement and the newly elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.
- 7.—(1) The ordinary elections of parish councillors elected in 1976 for any parish or ward of a parish situated in the Arborfield and Swallowfield wards of the district shall take place in 1980 and thereafter ordinary elections shall take place every fourth year.
- (2) The ordinary elections of parish councillors elected in 1979 for any parish or ward of a parish situated in the Barkham, Finchampstead, Remenham and Wargrave and Sonning wards of the district shall take place in 1982 and thereafter ordinary elections shall take place every fourth year.
- (3) The parish councillors to whom the foregoing paragraphs of this Article apply shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of parish councillors in the year of retirement and the newly elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.
- 8. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or alteration of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into operation of this Order.

Merlyn Rees,
One of Her Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 10th November 1978.

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBER OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

1		2	3 Number of Councillors
Name of New	Ward	Area of New Ward	
Arborfield		The parish of Arborfield and Newland	1
Barkham		The parish of Barkham	1
Bulmershe	•••	The Bulmershe ward of the parish of Woodley	2
California	•••	The California ward of the parish of Wokingham Without	2
Charvil		The parish of Charvil	1
Coronation	•••	The Coronation East and Coronation West wards of the parish of Woodley	3
Emmbrook		The Emmbrook North and Emmbrook South wards of the parish of Wokingham	3
Evendons		The Evendons East and Evendons West wards of the parish of Wokingham	3
Finchampstead		The parish of Finchampstead	2
Hurst	•••	The parish of St. Nicholas, Hurst and the North ward of the parish of Wokingham Without	1
Little Hungerford		The Little Hungerford ward of the parish of Earley and the South ward of the parish of Woodley	3
Loddon		The Loddon East and Loddon West wards of the parish of Woodley	3
Norreys	•••	The Norreys East and Norreys West wards of the parish of Wokingham	3
Redhatch	•••	The Redhatch North and Redhatch South wards of the parish of Earley	3
Remenham and W	argrave	The parishes of Remenham and Wargrave	2
St. Sebastian's		The St. Sebastian's ward of the parish of Wokingham Without	3
Shinfield		The parish of Shinfield	3
Sonning		The parish of Sonning	1

SCHEDULE 1—(continued)

1 Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
South Lake	The South Lake North and South Lake South wards of the parish of Woodley	3
Swallowfield	The parish of Swallowfield	1
Twyford and Ruscombe	The parishes of Ruscombe and Twyford	3
Wescott	The Wescott East and Wescott West wards of the parish of Wokingham	2
Whitegates	The Whitegates North and Whitegates South wards of the parish of Earley	2
Winnersh	The parish of Winnersh	3

SCHEDULE 2

ORDER OF RETIREMENT OF COUNCILLORS

Name of	f Ward		Number of Councillors to retire in 1980	Number of Councillors to retire in 1982	Number of Councillors to retire in 1983
Arborfield			1	0	0
Barkham		•••	0	1	0
Bulmershe	• •••	•••	1	0	1
California		•••	1	0	1
Charvil		•••	0	0	1
Coronation		•••	1	1	1
Emmbrook		•••	1	1	1
Evendons		•••	1	1	1
Finchampstead		•••	1	1	0
Hurst		•••	0	0	1
Little Hungerfor	d		1	1	1
Loddon		•••	1	1	1
Norreys		•••	1	1	1
Redhatch .		•••	1	1	1
Remenham and	Wargrave		1	1	0
St. Sebastian's .		•••	1	1	1
Shinfield .	<i>.</i>	•••	1	1	1
Sonning		•••	0	1	0
South Lake .		•••	1	1	1
Swallowfield .		•••	1	0	0
Twyford and Ru	scombe	•••	1	1	1
Wescott		•••	0	1	1
Whitegates .		•••	0	1	1
Winnersh		•••	1	1	1