1978 No. 1605

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES The Borough of Oldham (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978

Made - - 9th November 1978

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 15th July 1977 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the Borough of Oldham:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Borough of Oldham (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on 3rd May 1979 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation forthwith.
- 3.—(1) The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.
- (2) The map referred to in this Order is the map marked "MAP REFERRED TO IN THE BOROUGH OF OLDHAM (ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS) ORDER 1978" and deposited with the Secretary of State.
- 4. The existing wards of the Borough of Oldham shall be abolished and the said borough shall be divided into twenty wards which shall bear the names set out in Schedule 1 to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by blue lines thereon.
- 5. Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line thereof.
- 6. The number of councillors to be elected for each ward constituted by this Order shall be three.
- 7.—(1) The wards constituted by this Order shall have the internal boundaries thereof mered by Ordnance Survey.
- (2) Copies of the map, marked "COPY OF THE MAP REFERRED TO IN THE BOROUGH OF OLDHAM (ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS) ORDER 1978", shall be deposited with the council of the Borough of Oldham and with the Director General of the Ordnance Survey and such copies shall at all reasonable times be open to inspection by any person.

- 8. Subject to the provisions of Article 9 below, the election of councillors shall be by thirds.
- 9.—(1) The councillors who immediately before the coming into operation of this Order represent a ward specified in column 1 of Schedule 2 to this Order shall represent the ward specified opposite thereto in column 2 of that Schedule.
- (2) Any casual vacancy existing immediately before the coming into operation of this Order in the representation of a ward specified in column 1 of Schedule 2 to this Order shall be deemed to exist in the representation of the ward specified opposite thereto in column 2 of that Schedule.
- (3) A councillor specified in column 1 of Schedule 3 to this Order shall represent the ward specified opposite his name in column 2 of that Schedule.
- (4) Any casual vacancy existing immediately before the coming into operation of this Order in the office of a councillor specified in column 1 of Schedule 3 to this Order shall be deemed to exist in the representation of the ward specified opposite his name in column 2 of that Schedule.
- (5) The councillors for the Royton South ward of the borough as constituted by this Order shall be elected at the ordinary elections of metropolitan district councillors in 1979.
- (6) Of the councillors elected in 1979 for the Royton South ward of the borough—
 - (a) one-third shall retire in 1980 being, subject to paragraphs (7) and (8) below, the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes;
 - (b) one-third shall retire in 1982 being, subject as foresaid, the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes;
 - (c) the remaining councillor shall retire in 1983.
- (7) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any such year, the person to retire in that year shall be determined by lot.
- (8) If an election of councillors for the said ward is not contested, the person to retire in each such year shall be determined by lot.
- (9) Where under this Article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot shall be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen, and the drawing shall be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.
- (10) Except as otherwise provided in the foregoing paragraphs of this Article the term of office of councillors shall be four years, and all councillors shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors

of the borough in the year of retirement and the newly elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.

10. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or alteration of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into operation of this Order.

Merlyn Rees,
One of Her Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 9th November 1978.

SCHEDULE 1

Article 4.

Names of New Wards

 Alexandra	Royton North
Chadderton Central	Royton South
Chadderton North	Saddleworth East
Chadderton South	Saddleworth West
Coldhurst	Shaw
Crompton	St. James
Failsworth East	St. Marys
Failsworth West	St. Pauls
Hollinwood	Waterhead
Lees	Werneth

and (2). SCHEDULE 2

Assignment to New Wards of Councillors for Existing Wards

1 Name of Existing Ward						2 Name of New Ward
No. 1				••		Waterhead
No. 3		••	••	••	••	Lees
No. 4	••	••	• •		••	Hollinwood
No. 5		••		••		St. James
No. 6	••		••	• •		St. Marys
No. 7	••	••			••	Coldhurst
No. 8		• •			••	Werneth
No. 9	••	••		••	••	Chadderton Central
No. 10						Chadderton North
No. 11	••	••	• •	• •	••	Chadderton South
No. 12	••	• •				Shaw
No. 13	••			••	••	Crompton
No. 14			• •	••	••	Royton North
No. 15			••			Failsworth West
No. 16			••	• •	••	Failsworth East
No. 17		••			• •	Saddleworth West
No. 18		••	••			Saddleworth East

Assignment to New Wards of Councillors

Name	1 of Co	uncillor	2 Name of New Ward		
Vincent Hall					Alexandra
Walter Lees		••	••		Alexandra
Hilda Brierley					Alexandra
Albert Banks Jov	vett			St. Pauls	
Geoffrey Webb			• •		St. Pauls
Fred Ogden	••				St. Pauls