## 1978 No. 1495

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES The District of Wyre Forest (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978

Made - - 12th October 1978 Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 (a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 12th August 1977 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of Wyre Forest:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the District of Wyre Forest (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978.

2. This Order shall come into operation on 3rd May 1979 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation forthwith.

3.—(1) The Interpretation Act 1889 (b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.

(2) The map referred to in this Order is the map marked "MAP REFERRED TO IN THE DISTRICT OF WYRE FOREST (ELECTORAL ARRANGE-MENTS) ORDER 1978" and deposited with the Secretary of State.

4. The existing wards of the District of Wyre Forest shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into eighteen wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of Schedule 1 to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by blue lines thereon.

5. Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line thereof.

6. The number of councillors to be elected for each ward constituted by this Order shall be the number specified in column 2 of Schedule 1 to this Order opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

7.—(1) The wards constituted by this Order shall have the internal boundaries thereof mered by Ordance Survey.

(2) Copies of the map, marked "COPY OF THE MAP REFERRED TO IN THE DISTRICT OF WYRE FOREST (ELECTORAL ARRANGE-MENTS) ORDER 1978", shall be deposited with the council of the District of Wyre Forest and with the Director General of the Ordnance Survey and such copies shall at all reasonable times be open to inspection by any person. 8. Subject to the provisions of Article 9 below the election of councillors shall be by thirds.

9.—(1) The whole number of councillors shall be elected at the ordinary elections of councillors in 1979.

(2) The order of retirement of the councillors elected in 1979 shall be as set out in Schedule 2 to this Order.

(3) Where the number of councillors elected in 1979 for any ward of the district is two, the first to retire in that ward shall be, subject to paragraphs (5) and (6) below, the councillor elected by the smaller number of votes.

(4) Where the number of councillors elected in 1979 for any ward of the district is three—

- (a) one-third shall retire in 1980 being, subject to paragraphs (5) and (6) below, the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes;
- (b) one-third shall retire in 1982 being, subject as aforesaid, the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes;
- (c) the remaining councillor shall retire in 1983.

(5) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any such year, the person to retire in that year shall be determined by lot.

(6) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in each such year shall be determined by lot.

(7) Where under this Article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot shall be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen, and the drawing shall be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.

(8) Except as otherwise provided in the foregoing paragraphs of this Article the term of office of councillors shall be four years, and all councillors shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors for the district in the year of retirement and the newly elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.

10.—(1) The ordinary elections of parish councillors elected in 1976 for any parish or ward of a parish situated in the Rock and Ribbesford ward of the district shall take place in 1980 and thereafter ordinary elections shall take place every fourth year.

(2) The ordinary elections of parish councillors elected in 1979 for any parish or ward of a parish situated in the Bewdley, Chaddesley and Wribbenhall and Arley wards of the district shall take place in 1982 and thereafter ordinary elections shall take place every fourth year.

(3) The parish councillors to whom the foregoing paragraphs of this Article apply shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of parish councillors in the year of retirement and the newly elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire. 11. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or alteration of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into operation of this Order.

## Merlyn Rees, One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 12th October 1978.

## SCHEDULE 1

Articles 4 and 6,

NAMES OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

· · · · ·				
1	2 Number of Counciliors			
Name of New V				
Aggborough and Spennells	••	••		3
Areley Kings	••	••		3
Bewdley	••			2
Blakedown	••	••		1
Broadwaters	••	••		3
Chaddesley	••	••		1
Cookley	••	••		1
Franche	••	••		3
Greenhill	••			3
Habberley and Blakebrook	••	••		3
Lickhill	••	••		3
Mitton	••	••	••	3
Offmore	••	••		3
Oldington and Foley Park	••	••		3
Rock and Ribbesford	••	••		1
Sutton Park	••	••		3
Wolverley	••	••		1
Wribbenhall and Arley	••	••		2

## Article 9(2).

#### SCHEDULE 2

Name of Ward		Number of Councillors to retire in 1980	Number of Councillors to retire in 1982	Number of Councillors to retire in 1983
Aggborough and Spennell	s	1	1	1
Areley Kings		1	1	1
Bewdley		1	1	0
Blakedown		0	0	1
Broadwaters		1	1	1
Chaddesley		0	1	0
Cookley		0	0	1
Franche		1	1	1
Greenhill		1	1	1
Habberley and Blakebroo	k	1	1	1
Lickhill		1	1	1
Mitton		1	1	1
Offmore		1	1	1
Oldington and Foley Park		1	1	1
Rock and Ribbesford		1	0	0
Sutton Park		1	1	1
Wolverley		0	o	1
Wribbenhall and Arley		1	1	0

#### ORDER OF RETIREMENT OF COUNCILLORS

Printed in England by Bemrose & Sons Ltd., and published by Her Majesty's Stationery Office. 17/8327 M17 K7 10/78 20p. net ISBN 0 11 084495 5