STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1978 No. 1435

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES The District of Cotswold (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978

Made - - - 28th September 1978 Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 1st November 1977 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of Cotswold:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the District of Cotswold (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on 3rd May 1979 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1978.
- 3. The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.
- 4.—(1) The existing wards of the District of Cotswold shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into thirty-three wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- 5. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of Cotswold shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1979 and every fourth year thereafter.

Merlyn Rees,

One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 28th September 1978.

Article 4. SCHEDULE

Names and Areas of and Numbers of Councillors for New Wards

		Γ
1	2	3 Number of
Name of New Ward	Area of New Ward	Councillors
Ampneys	The parishes of Ampney Crucis, Ampney St. Mary, Ampney St. Peter, Driffield and Preston	1
Avening	The parishes of Ashley, Avening, Cherington, Long Newnton and Shipton Moyne	1
Beacon	The parishes of Bledington, Great Rissington, Icomb, Little Rissington, Westcote and Wick Rissington	1
Blockley	The parish of Blockley	1
Bourton-on-the-Water	The parishes of Bourton-on-the- Water and Clapton	2
Campden	The parishes of Chipping Campden and Ebrington	2
Churn Valley	The parishes of Bagendon, Baunton, Colesbourne, North Cerney and Rendcomb	1
Cirencester Abbey	The Abbey ward of the parish of Cirencester	2
Cirencester Beeches	The Beeches ward of the parish of Cirencester	2
Cirencester Chesterton	The Chesterton ward of the parish of Cirencester	2
Cirencester Stratton	The Stratton ward of the parish of Cirencester	2
Cirencester Watermoor	The Watermoor ward of the parish of Cirencester	2

SCHEDULE—(continued)

1 Name of New Ward		2	3 Number of
		Area of New Ward	Councillors
Coln	•••	The parishes of Barnsley, Bibury, Coln St. Aldwyns, Hatherop, Quenington and Winson	1
Ermin	•••	The parishes of Brimpsfield, Daglingworth, Duntisbourne Abbots, Duntisbourne Rouse, Edgeworth, Elkstone, Syde and Winstone	1
Evenlode Vale		The parishes of Adlestrop, Broadwell, Donnington, Evenlode, Maugersbury and Oddington	1
Fairford	•••	The parish of Fairford	2
Fossehill	•••	The parishes of Chedworth, Cold Aston, Compton Abdale, Hampnett, Hazleton, Notgrove, Turkdean and Yanworth	1
Fosseridge		The parishes of Batsford, Bourton- on-the-Hill, Condicote, Long- borough, Sezincote and Todenham	1
Grumbold's Ash	•••	The parishes of Beverstone, Boxwell with Leighterton, Didmarton, Kingscote, Ozleworth and Westonbirt with Lasborough	1
Hampton		The parishes of Down Ampney, Maiseyhampton and Poulton	1
Kempsford		The parish of Kempsford	1
Lechlade		The parish of Lechlade	1
Mickleton		The parish of Mickleton	1
Moreton-in-Marsh		The parish of Moreton-in-Marsh	2

SCHEDULE—(continued)

1 Name of Nev	v Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Northleach	***	The parishes of Coln St. Dennis and Northleach with Eastington	1
Sandywell		The parishes of Andoversford, Dowdeswell, Sevenhampton, Shipton, Whittington and Withington	1
Sherborne Brook		The parishes of Aldsworth, Barrington, Eastleach, Farmington, Sherborne, Southrop and Windrush	1
Stow-on-the-Wold	i	The parish of Stow-on-the Wold	1
Tetbury		The parishes of Tetbury and Tetbury Upton	3
Thames Head	•••	The parishes of Coates, Kemble, Rodmarton and Sapperton	1
Three Rivers		The parishes of Cutsdean, Guiting Power, Lower Slaughter, Naunton, Swell, Temple Guiting and Upper Slaughter	1
Vale		The parishes of Aston Subedge, Saintbury, Weston Subedge, Weston Subedge (Detached) and Willersey	1
Water Park	•••	The parishes of Poole Keynes, Siddington, Somerford Keynes and South Cerney	2

Printed in England by Burrup, Mathieson & Co., Ltd., and published by Her Majesty's Stationery Office 17/S36332X/w K97 K6 10/78