STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1978 No. 1314

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Inner Urban Areas (Designated Districts) (England and Wales) Order 1978

Made - - - - 5th September 1978

Laid before Parliament 8th September 1978

Coming into Operation 29th September 1978

The Secretary of State for the Environment in relation to England, and the Secretary of State for Wales in relation to Wales, being satisfied as respects each district set out in the Schedule hereto that it includes the whole or part of an inner urban area in which special social need exists, and that the conditions giving rise to the existence of that need could be alleviated by the exercise of the powers conferred by the Inner Urban Areas Act 1978, in exercise of the powers conferred on them by sections 1(1) and 15 of the said Act, and of all other powers enabling them in that behalf, hereby make the following order:—

- **1.** This order shall come into operation on 29th September 1978 and may be cited as the Inner Urban Areas (Designated Districts) (England and Wales) Order 1978.
- **2.** The Interpretation Act 1889 shall apply for the interpretation of this order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.
- **3.** The districts set out in the Schedule to this order are hereby specified as designated districts for the purposes of the Inner Urban Areas Act 1978.

5th September 1978

Peter Shore
Secretary of State for the Environment

T. Alec Jones
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for
Wales

29th August 1978

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format. The electronic version of this UK Statutory Instrument has been contributed by Westlaw and is taken from the printed publication. Read more

SCHEDULE

ENGLAND

Barnsley

Birmingham

Blackburn

Bolton

Bradford

Brent

Doncaster

Ealing

Gateshead

Greenwich

Hackney

Hammersmith

Haringey

Hartlepool

Islington

Kingston upon Hull

Lambeth

Leeds

Leicester

Lewisham

Liverpool

Manchester

Middlesbrough

Newcastle upon Tyne

Newham

North Tyneside

Nottingham

Oldham

Rochdale

Rotherham

Saint Helens

Salford

Sandwell

Sefton

Sheffield

South Tyneside

Southwark

Document Generated: 2023-06-17

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format. The electronic version of this UK Statutory Instrument has been contributed by Westlaw and is taken from the printed publication. Read more

Sunderland

Tower Hamlets

Wandsworth

Wigan

Wirral

WALES

Blaenau Gwent

Cardiff

Newport

Rhondda

Swansea

EXPLANATORY NOTE

The Inner Urban Areas Act 1978 gives additional powers to designated district authorities. This Order specifies in the Schedule designated districts for the purposes of the Act. The district council and the council of the county which includes the designated district are both designated district authorities in relation to a designated district. In relation to a designated district in London, the council of the London Borough and the Greater London Council are the designated district authorities.