1977 No. 866

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of West Devon (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977

Made - - - - 13th May 1977

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 11th February 1977 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of West Devon:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the District of West Devon (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on 3rd May 1979 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1978.
- 3. The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.
- 4.—(1) The existing wards of the District of West Devon shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into twenty-one wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

5. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of West Devon shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1979 and every fourth year thereafter.

Merlyn Rees,
One of Her Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 13th May 1977.

Article 4. SCHEDULE

Names and Areas of and Numbers of Councillors for New Wards

1 Name of New Ward			2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Bere Ferrers		•••	The parish of Bere Ferrers	2
Bridestowe	•••	•••	The parishes of Bratton Clovelly, Bridestowe, Germansweek, Sourton and Lands common to the parishes of Bridestowe and Sourton (Bridestowe and Sourton Common)	1
			,	-
Buckland Monachorum			The parish of Buckland Monachorum	2
Burrator	•••	•••	The parishes of Meavy, Sheepstor and Walkhampton	1
Chagford	•••	•••	The parish of Chagford	1
Courtenay	•••	•••	The parishes of Belstone, Okehampton Hamlets and Sampford Courtenay	1
Drewsteignto	n	•••	The parishes of Drewsteignton, Gidleigh, Spreyton and Throwleigh	1
Exbourne	•••	•••	The parishes of Broadwoodkelly, Exbourne, Iddesleigh, Jacobstowe and Monk- okehampton	1
Hatherleigh	•••	•••	The parishes of Hatherleigh, Highampton and Meeth	1
Lew Valley	•••	•••	The parishes of Ashbury, Beaworthy, Inwardleigh and Northlew	1
Lydford		•••	The parish of Lydford	1

SCHEDULE—Continued Article 4.

Names and Areas of and Numbers of Councillors for New Wards

1 Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Mary Tavy	The parishes of Brentor, Mary Tavy and Peter Tavy	1
Milton Ford	The parishes of Bradstone, Coryton, Dunterton, Kelly, Lewtrenchard, Marystow and Milton Abbot	1
North Tawton	The parishes of Bondleigh and North Tawton	1
Okehampton	The parish of Okehampton	3
South Tawton	The parish of South Tawton	1
Tamarside	The parishes of Lamerton, Sydenham Damerel and Tavistock Hamlets	1
Tavistock North	The North ward of the parish of Tavistock	3
Tavistock South	The South ward of the parish of Tavistock	3
Thrushel	The parishes of Lifton, Stowford and Thrushelton	1
Walkham	The parishes of Horrabridge, Sampford Spiney and Whitchurch	2