#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

### 1977 No. 865

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

# The District of Chichester (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977

Made - - - 13th May 1977

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 16th February 1977 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of Chichester:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the District of Chichester (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on 3rd May 1979 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1978.
- 3. The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.
- 4.—(1) The existing wards of the District of Chichester shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into thirty-three wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- 5. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of Chichester shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1979 and every fourth year thereafter.

Merlyn Rees,
One of Her Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State.

Home Office.

13th May 1977.

Article 4. SCHEDULE

Names and Areas of and Numbers of Councillors for New Wards

1	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Name of New Ward		
Birdham	The parishes of Birdham and West Itchenor	1
Bosham	The parish of Bosham	2
Boxgrove	The parishes of Boxgrove, Eartham, East Dean, Singleton and Upwatham	1
Bury	The parishes of Barlavington, Bignor, Bury, Duncton and Sutton	1
Chichester East	The East ward of the parish of Chichester	3
Chichester North	The North ward of the parish of Chichester	3
Chichester South	The South ward of the parish of Chichester	3
Chichester West	The West ward of the parish of Chichester	3
Donnington	The parishes of Appledram and Donnington	1
Easebourne	The parish of Easebourne	1
East Wittering	The parishes of Earnley and East Wittering	1
Fernhurst	The parish of Fernhurst	2
Funtington	The parishes of Chidham and Funtington	1
Graffham	The parishes of Bepton, Cocking, East Lavington, Graffham and Heyshott	1
Harting	The parishes of Elsted, Harting and Treyford	1
Hunston	The parishes of Hunston and North Mundham	1
Lavant	The parishes of Lavant and Westhampnett	1
Linchmere	The parish of Linchmere	1

## SCHEDULE—Continued

## Names and Areas of and Numbers of Councillors for New Wards

1 Name of New Ward		2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Midhurst	•••	The parishes of Midhurst and West Lavington	2
Oving	***	The parishes of Oving and Tangmere	1
Petworth	•••	The parishes of Northchapel and Petworth	2
Plaistow	•••	The parishes of Kirdford, Loxwood and Plaistow	2
Rogate	•••	The parishes of Rogate and Trotton with Chithurst	1
Selsey North		The North ward of the parish of Selsey	2
Selsey South		The South ward of the parish of Selsey	2
Sidlesham	•••	The parish of Sidlesham	1
Southbourne	•••	The parishes of Southbourne and West Thorney	3
Stedham	•••	The parishes of Linch, Milland, Stedham with Iping and Woolbeding	1
Stoughton	•••	The parishes of Compton, Marden, Stoughton and West Dean	1
Westbourne	•••	The parish of Westbourne	1
West Wittering		The parish of West Wittering	1
Wisborough Gre	en	The parishes of Fittleworth, Stopham and Wisborough Green	1