#### 1977 No. 864

### LOCAL GOVERMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

### The District of Craven (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977

Made - - - 13th May 1977

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 28th October 1976 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of Craven:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the District of Craven (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on 3rd May 1979 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1978.
- 3. The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.
- 4.—(1) The existing wards of the District of Craven shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into twenty-four wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of Schedule 1 to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified in column 2 of that Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in the said column 1.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule 1 opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- 5. Subject to the provisions of Article 6 below the election of councillors shall be by thirds.
- **6.**—(1) The whole number of councillors shall be elected at the ordinary elections of councillors in 1979.

- (2) The order of retirement of the councillors elected in 1979 shall be as set out in Schedule 2 to this Order.
- (3) Where the number of councillors elected in 1979 for any ward of the district is two, the first to retire in that ward shall be, subject to paragraphs (5) and (6) below, the councillor elected by the smaller number of votes.
- (4) Where the number of councillors elected in 1979 for any ward of the district is three—
  - (a) one-third shall retire in 1980 being, subject to paragraphs (5) and (6) below, the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes:
  - (b) one-third shall retire in 1982 being, subject as aforesaid, the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes;
  - (c) the remaining councillor shall retire in 1983.
- (5) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any such year, the person to retire in that year shall be determined by lot.
- (6) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in each such year shall be determined by lot.
- (7) Where under this Article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot shall be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen, and the drawing shall be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.
- (8) Except as otherwise provided in the foregoing paragraphs of this Article the term of office of councillors shall be four years, and all councillors shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors for the district in the year of retirement and the newly elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.
- 7.—(1) The ordinary elections of parish councillors elected in 1976 for any parish or ward of a parish situated in the Bolton Abbey, Cowling, Grassington and Upper Wharfedale wards of the district shall take place in 1980 and thereafter ordinary elections shall take place every fourth year.
- (2) The ordinary elections of parish councillors elected in 1979 for any parish or ward of a parish situated in the Bentham, Calton, Clapham, Gargrave, Glusburn, Hellifield, Ingleborough, Penyghent and Settle wards of the district shall take place in 1982 and thereafter ordinary elections shall take place every fourth year.
- (3) The parish councillors to whom the foregoing paragraphs of this Article apply shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of parish councillors in the year of retirement and the newly elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.

Merlyn Rees,

One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office.

13th May 1977.

SCHEDULE 1

## Names and Areas of and Numbers of Councillors for New Wards

1	2	3 Number of	
Name of New Ward	Area of New Ward	Councillors	
Aire Valley	The parishes of Bradleys Both, Cononley and Farnhill	2	
Bentham	The parish of Bentham	2	
Bolton Abbey	The parishes of Appletreewick, Barden, Beamsley, Bolton Abbey, Burnsall, Draughton, Hartlington, Hazlewood with Storiths, Halton East and Thorpe	1	
Calton	The parishes of Airton, Bordley, Calton, Cracoe, Eshton, Flasby with Winterburn, Hanlith, Hetton, Kirkby Malham, Malham, Malham Moor, Otterburn, Rylstone, Scosthrop and Stirton with Thorlby	1	
Clapham	The parishes of Austwick, Clapham cum Newby and Lawkland	1	
Cowling	The parish of Cowling	1	
Embsay-with-Eastby	The parish of Embsay with Eastby	1	
Gargrave	The parish of Gargrave	1	
Glusburn	The parishes of Glusburn and Lothersdale	3	
Grassington	The parishes of Grassington, Hebden and Linton	1	
Hellifield	The parishes of Bank Newton, Coniston Cold, Hellifield, Martons Both, Nappa and Swinden	1	
Ingleborough	The parishes of Burton in Lonsdale, Ingleton and Thornton in Lonsdale	2	
Penyghent	The parishes of Giggleswick, Horton in Ribblesdale and Stainforth	1	
Ribbleside	The parishes of Halton West, Long Preston, Rathmell and Wigglesworth	1	
Settle	The parishes of Langeliffe and Settle	2	
Skipton Central	The Central ward of the parish of Skipton	1	
Skipton East	The East ward of the parish of Skipton	3	
Skipton North	The North ward of the parish of Skipton	2	

Article 4.

#### SCHEDULE 1—continued

# Names and Areas of and Numbers of Councillors for New Wards

1 Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Skipton South	The South ward of the parish of Skipton	1
Skipton South-West	The South West ward of the parish of Skipton	1
Skipton West	The West ward of the parish of Skipton	1
Sutton	The parish of Sutton	2
Upper Wharfedale	The parishes of Arncliffe, Buckden, Conistone with Kilnsey, Halton Gill, Hawkswick, Kettlewell with Starbotton, Litton and Threshfield	1
West Craven	The parishes of Broughton, Carleton, Elslack and Thornton in Craven	1

SCHEDULE 2

ORDER OF RETIREMENT OF COUNCILLORS

Name of Ward	Number of Councillors to retire in 1980	Number of Councillors to retire in 1982	Number of Councillors to retire in 1983
Aire Valley	1	0	1
Bentham	1	1	0
Bolton Abbey	1	0	0
Calton	0	1	0
Clapham	0	1	0
Cowling	1	0	0
Embsay-with-Eastby	0	0	1
Gargrave	0	1	0
Glusburn	1	1	1
Grassington	1	0	0
Hellifield	0	1	0
Ingleborough	1	1	0
Penyghent	0	1	0
Ribbleside	0	0	1
Settle	1	1	0
Skipton Central	0	o	1
Skipton East	1	1	1
Skipton North	0	1	1
Skipton South	0	o	1
Skipton South-West	0	0	1
Skipton West	0	0	1
Sutton	1	o	1
Upper Wharfedale	1	0	0
West Craven	0	o	1