1977 No. 1392

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The London Borough of Southwark (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977

Made - - - 6th August 1977

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 26th April 1977 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the London borough of Southwark:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the London Borough of Southwark (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977.

2. This Order shall come into operation on 4th May 1978 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1977.

3.—(1) The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.

(2) The map referred to in this Order is the map marked "MAP REFERRED TO IN THE LONDON BOROUGH OF SOUTHWARK (ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS) ORDER 1977" and deposited with the Secretary of State.

4. The existing wards of the London borough of Southwark shall be abolished and the said London borough shall be divided into twenty-five wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by blue lines thereon.

5. Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line thereof.

6. The number of councillors to be elected for each ward constituted by this Order shall be the number specified in column 2 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

7.—(1) The wards constituted by this Order shall have the internal boundaries thereof mered by Ordnance Survey.

(2) Copies of the map, marked "COPY OF THE MAP REFERRED TO IN THE LONDON BOROUGH OF SOUTHWARK (ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS) ORDER 1977", shall be deposited with the council of the London borough of Southwark and with the Director General of the Ordnance Survey and such copies shall at all reasonable times be open to inspection by any person.

8. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the London borough of Southwark shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of London borough councillors in 1978 and every fourth year thereafter.

> Merlyn Rees, One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 6th August 1977.

\ ز

SCHEDULE

Articles 4 and 6.

NAMES OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

1 Name of New Ward							2 Number of Councillors
Abbey	•••	•••	••	•••	••		2
Alleyn	••		••				2
Barset	••		••	••	••		2
Bellenden		••	•••	••	••	••	3
Bricklayers	••	••	••	••	••		2
Browning	••	•••	••	••			3
Brunswick	••			••			3
Burgess		••	••	••	••		2
Cathedral		••	••	••	••		2
Chaucer	••	••	••	••			3
College	••		••	••			2
Consort	••	••			••		2
Dockyard	••	••	••		••		3
Faraday	••				••		3
Friary	••						3
Liddle	••						3
Lyndhurst	••			••	••		3
Newington	••	••					3
Riverside		••					3
Rotherhithe	••	••	••				3
Ruskin	••	••	••				3
Rye	••	••			••		2
St. Giles				••	••		3
The Lane		••	••				2
Waverley	••		••	••			2

,