1977 No. 1273

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of Bracknell (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977

Made - - - - 24th July 1977

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 31st March 1977 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of Bracknell:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the District of Bracknell (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on 3rd May 1979 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1978.
- 3. The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.
- 4.—(1) The existing wards of the District of Bracknell shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into nineteen wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- 5. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of Bracknell shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1979 and every fourth year thereafter.

Merlyn Rees,
One of Her Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 24th July 1977.

Article 4.

SCHEDULE

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Ascot	The Firlands, Manor and Priory wards of the parish of Winkfield	3
Binfield	The parish of Binfield	2
Bullbrook	The Bullbrook ward of the parish of Brack-nell	3
College Town	The College Town ward of the parish of Sandhurst	2
Cranbourne	The Cranbourne ward of the parish of Winkfield	1
Crowthorne	The parish of Easthampstead and the Crowthorne ward of the parish of Crowthorne	3
Garth	The Garth ward of the parish of Bracknell	2
Great Hollands North	The Great Hollands North ward of the parish of Bracknell	2
Great Hollands South	The Great Hollands South ward of the parish of Bracknell	2
Hanworth	The Hanworth ward of the parish of Bracknell	3
Harmanswater	The Harmanswater ward of the parish of Bracknell	3
Little Sandhurst	The Little Sandhurst ward of the parish of Sandhurst	2
Old Bracknell	The Old Bracknell ward of the parish of Bracknell	3
Owlsmoor	The Owlsmoor ward of the parish of Crowthorne	1
Priestwood	The Priestwood ward of the parish of Bracknell	2
St. Mary's	The St. Mary's ward of the parish of Winkfield	1
Sandhurst	The Sandhurst ward of the parish of Sandhurst	2

SCHEDULE—Continued

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

1 Name of New Ward		'ard		3 Number of Councillors
Warfield		•••	The parish of Warfield	1
Wildridings	•••	•••	The Wildridings ward of the parish of Bracknell	2