STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1977 No. 1258

# **CIVIL AVIATION**

The Tokyo Convention (Certification of Countries) Order 1977

Made - - - 26th July 1977

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 26th day of July 1977

Present,

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Her Majesty, in exercise of the powers conferred upon Her by section 7(1) of the Tokyo Convention Act 1967 (which provides that Her Majesty may by Order in Council certify which countries are Convention countries, that is to say countries in which the Convention on Offences and certain other Acts Committed on board Aircraft signed in Tokyo on 14th September 1963 is for the time being in force) and of all other powers enabling Her in that behalf is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:

1. This Order may be cited as the Tokyo Convention (Certification of Countries) Order 1977.

2.—(1) The Tokyo Convention (Certification of Countries) Order 1971(1) is hereby revoked.

(2) Section 38(2) of the Interpretation Act 1889 (which relates to the effect of repeals) shall apply to this Order as if this Order were an Act of Parliament and as if the Order revoked by this Article were an Act of Parliament thereby repealed.

3. It is hereby certified that the countries listed in the Schedule hereto are Convention countries.

*N.E. Leigh* Clerk of the Privy Council

#### SCHEDULE

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland The Channel Islands The Isle of Man Belize Bermuda British Antarctic Territory British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Cayman Islands The Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia in the island of Cyprus Falkland Islands and Dependencies Gibraltar Gilbert Islands Hong Kong Montserrat Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands St. Helena and Dependencies Solomon Islands Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Afghanistan Argentine Republic Australia and all territories subject to the sovereignty or authority of Australia Austria Bahamas Barbados Belgium Brazil Burundi Canada Chad Chile Colombia Costa Rica Cyprus Denmark and the Faroe Islands **Dominican Republic** Ecuador

Egypt Fiji Finland France and all territories subject to the sovereignty or authority of France Gabon The Federal Republic of Germany Ghana Greece Guatemala Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq The Republic of Ireland Israel Italy Ivory Coast Japan Jordan Kenya The Republic of Korea Laos Lebanon Lesotho Libya Luxembourg The Democratic Republic of Madagascar Malawi Mali Mexico Morocco The Netherlands except the Netherlands Antilles New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Norway and all territories subject to the sovereignty or authority of Norway Oman

Pakistan
Panama
Papua New Guinea
Paraguay
The Philippines
Poland
Portugal and all territories subject to the sovereignty or authority of Portugal
Romania
Rwanda
Saudi Arabia
Senegal
Seychelles
Sierra Leone
Singapore
South Africa
Spain and all territories subject to the sovereignty or authority of Spain
Sweden
Switzerland
Thailand
Togo
Trinidad and Tobago
Tunisia
Turkey
The United States of America and all territories subject to the sovereignty or authority of the United States of America
Upper Volta
Uruguay
Yugoslavia
Zambia

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

This Order revokes and replaces the Tokyo Convention (Certification of Countries) Order 1971. It certifies in which countries the Convention on Offences and certain other Acts Committed on board Aircraft, signed in Tokyo on 14th September 1963, is for the time being in force. Under section 7(1) of the Tokyo Convention Act 1967 this Order is conclusive evidence of the matters certified.

### Document Generated: 2023-07-14

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format. The electronic version of this UK Statutory Instrument has been contributed by Westlaw and is taken from the printed publication. Read more