## 1976 No. 67

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

## The District of South Shropshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976

Made - - - - 21st January 1976
Coming into Operation 6th May 1976

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 29th September 1975 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of South Shropshire:

Now, therefore, I, the Right Honourable Roy Jenkins, one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, do hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the District of South Shropshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on 6th May 1976 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation forthwith.
- 3. The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.
- 4.—(1) The existing wards of the District of South Shropshire shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into twenty-eight wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- 5. The ordinary elections of all councillors of the District of South Shropshire shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1976, 1979 and every fourth year thereafter.

6. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or alteration of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into operation of this Order.

Roy Jenkins,
One of Her Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State.

Home Office, Whitehall. 21st January 1976.

## Names and Areas of and Numbers of Councillors for New Wards

| 1                        | 2  | 3                        |
|--------------------------|--|--------------------------|
| Name of Ward             | Area of New Ward   | Number of<br>Councillors |
| Apedale                  | The parishes of Acton Scott, Eaton-under-Heywood, Hope Bowdler and Rushbury                          | 1                        |
| Ashford                  | The parishes of Ashford Bowdler, Ashford Carbonel and Richard's Castle (Salop)                       | 1                        |
| Bishop's Castle          | The parishes of Bishop's Castle, Colebatch,<br>Lydham and Mainstone                                  | 2                        |
| Bitterley                | The parish of Bitterley  | 1                        |
| Bucknell                 | The parishes of Bedstone, Bucknell, Hopton Castle and Stowe  | 1                        |
| Burford                  | The parishes of Boraston and Burford   | 1                        |
| Caynham                  | The Knowbury ward of the parish of Caynham, and the parishes of Whitton, Greete, Nash and Hope Bagot | 1                        |
| Chirbury                 | The parishes of Brompton and Rhiston and Chirbury  | 1                        |
| Church Stretton<br>North | The All Stretton and the Church Stretton North wards of the parish of Church Stretton                | 2                        |
| Church Stretton<br>South | The Little Stretton and the Church Stretton South wards of the parish of Church Stretton             | 2                        |
| Clee                     | The Clee ward of the parish of Caynham   | 1                        |
| Cleobury<br>Mortimer     | The parishes of Cleobury Mortimer, Milson and Neen Sollars   | 2                        |
| Clun                     | The Clun ward of the parish of Clun  | 1                        |
| Clunbury                 | The parishes of Clunbury and Clungunford   | 1                        |
| Diddlebury               | The parishes of Culmington and Diddlebury  | 1                        |
| Hopton Wafers            | The parishes of Corely and Hopton Wafers   | 1                        |
| Ludlow Castle            | The parish of Ludford and the Castle and the Teme wards of the parish of Ludlow                      | 3                        |
| Ludlow East<br>Hamlet    | The parish of East Hamlet and the Henley and the Fishmore wards of the parish of Ludlow              | 3                        |
| Ludlow<br>Galdeford      | The Sheet and the Galdeford wards of the parish of Ludlow  | 3                        |
| Lydbury North            | The parishes of Edgton, Hopesay and Lydbury North  | 1                        |
| Munslow                  | The parishes of Abdon, Heath, Munslow and Tugford  | 1                        |

| 1                       | 2   | 3                        |
|-------------------------|---|--------------------------|
| Name of Ward            | Area of New Ward  | Number of<br>Councillors |
| Newcastle               | The parishes of Bettws-y-Crwyn and Llanfair Water-<br>dine and the Newcastle and the Chapel Lawn<br>wards of the parish of Clun | 1                        |
| Stanton Lacy            | The parishes of Bromfield and Stanton Lacy  | 1                        |
| Stoke St.<br>Milborough | The parishes of Clee St. Margaret, Hopton Cangeford,<br>Stoke St. Milborough and Wheathill                                      | 1                        |
| Stokesay                | The parishes of Halford, Onibury, Sibdon Carwood and Stokesay   | 2                        |
| Wentnor                 | The parishes of More, Myndtown, Norbury, Rat-<br>linghope and Wentnor   | 1                        |
| Winstanstow             | The parish of Winstanstow   | 1                        |
| Worthen                 | The parishes of Worthen and Shelve  | 2                        |