## 1976 No. 1691

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

## The District of Bridgnorth (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976

Made - - - 10th October 1976

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 21st June 1976 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of Bridgnorth:

Now, therefore, I, the Right Honourable Merlyn Rees, one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, do hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the District of Bridgnorth (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on 3rd May 1979 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1978.
- 3. The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.
- 4.—(1) The existing wards of the District of Bridgnorth shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into twenty wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

5. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of Bridgnorth shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1979 and every fourth year thereafter.

Merlyn Rees,
One of Her Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State.

Home Office, Whitehall. 10th October 1976.

1 Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Albrighton	The parishes of Albrighton and Boningal	e 3
Alveley	The parishes of Alveley, Quatt Malvern an Romsley	d . 2
Bridgnorth Castle .	of Duidon outh	h . 1
Bridgnorth East .	Duidonouth	of 1
Bridgnorth Morfe .	The Bridgnorth Morfe ward of the paris of Bridgnorth	h . 2
Bridgnorth West .	The Bridgnorth West ward of the parish of Bridgnorth	of . 3
Broseley	The parish of Broseley	. 3
Claverley	The parish of Claverley	. 1
Ditton Priors .	The parishes of Ditton Priors, Easthop Monkhopton, Shipton and Stanton Lon	e, g 1
Glazeley	The parishes of Billingsley, Chelmarsh Chetton, Deuxhill, Eardington, Glazele and Middleton Scriven	
Harrington	The parishes of Badger, Beckbury, Kemberton, Ryton, Stockton and Sutton Maddoo	
Highley	The parish of Highley	. 2
Idsall	The Idsall ward of the parish of Shifnal.	. 2
Kinlet	The parishes of Farlow, Kinlet and Nee Savage	n . 1
Manor	The Manor ward of the parish of Shifnal.	. 2
Morville	The parishes of Acton Round, Astle Abbotts, Aston Eyre, Morville, Tasle and Upton Cressett	y y . 1
Much Wenlock .	The parishes of Barrow and Much Wenloc	k 2
Sheriffhales	The parishes of Boscobel, Donington Sheriffhales and Tong	·
Stottesdon	The parishes of Aston Botterell, Burwarton Cleobury North, Neenton, Sidbury and Stottesdon	d
Worfield	The parishes of Rudge and Worfield .	. 1