1976 No. 1001

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Borough of Glanford (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976

Made - - - 24th June 1976

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 31st December 1975 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the Borough of Glanford:

Now, therefore, I, the Right Honourable Roy Jenkins, one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, do hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Borough of Glanford (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on 3rd May 1979 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1978.
- 3. The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.
- 4.—(1) The existing wards of the Borough of Glanford shall be abolished and the said borough shall be divided into twenty-three wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- 5. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the Borough of Glanford shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1979 and every fourth year thereafter.

Roy Jenkins,
One of Her Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State.

Home Office, Whitehall. 24th June 1976.

Article 4. SCHEDULE

Names and Areas of and Numbers of Councillors for New Wards

1 Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Abbey	The parishes of Barrow upon Humber, Thornton Curtis and Wootton	2
Barton-upon-Humber Bridge	The Bridge ward of the pairsh of Barton-upon- Humber	3
Barton-upon-Humber Park	The Park ward of the parish of Barton-upon- Humber	3
Bottesford Central	The Central ward of the parish of Bottesford	2
Bottesford East	The East ward of the parish of Bottesford	2
Bottesford West	The West ward of the parish of Bottesford	2
Brigg	The parish of Brigg	3
Broughton	The parish of Broughton	3
Burton upon Stather	The parish of Burton upon Stather	1
Goxhill	The parish of Goxhill	1
Gunness	The parishes of Flixborough and Gunness	1
Humber	The parishes of East Halton, North Killing-holme and South Killingholme	2
Kirton	The parishes of Kirton in Lindsey and Manton	2
Messingham	The parish of Messingham	2
North Ancholme	The parishes of Bonby, Horkstow, Saxby All Saints, South Ferriby and Worlaby	1
North West	The parishes of Alkborough, West Halton, Whitton and Winteringham	1
Scawby South Ancholme	The parishes of Holme and Scawby The parishes of Cadney, Hibaldstow and Redbourne	2 1
Trentside	The parishes of Burringham and East Butterwick	1

Article 4.

SCHEDULE—Continued

Names and Areas of and Numbers of Councillors for New Wards

1 Name of New Ward			2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Ulceby	•••	•••	The parishes of Croxton, Kirmington and Ulceby	1
Winterton	•••	•••	The parishes of Appleby, Roxby cum Risby and Winterton	3
Wold	•••	•••	The parishes of Barnetby le Wold and Melton Ross	1
Wrawby	•••	•••	The parishes of Elsham and Wrawby	1