STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1975 No. 2200 LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Borough of Oswestry (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975

Made - - -

18th December 1975

Coming into Operation

6th May 1976

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 3rd October 1975 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the Borough of Oswestry:

Now, therefore, I, the Right Honourable Roy Jenkins, one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, do hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Borough of Oswestry (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on 6th May 1976 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation forthwith.
- 3. The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.
- 4.—(1) The existing wards of the Borough of Oswestry shall be abolished and the said borough shall be divided into fifteen wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- 5. The ordinary elections of all councillors of the Borough of Oswestry shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1976, 1979 and every fourth year thereafter.
- 6. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or alteration of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into operation of this Order.

Roy Jenkins,

One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office, Whitehall. 18th December 1975.

Article 4. SCHEDULE

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

1 Name of New Ward			2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Cambrian	•••		The Cambrian ward of the parish of Oswestry	3
Gatacre			The Gatacre ward of the parish of Oswestry	3
Gobowen	•••	•••	The parish of Selattyn and Gobowen	3
Kinnerley	•••	•••	The parishes of Kinnerley and Melverley	1
Llanyblodwel	•••		The parish of Llanyblodwel	1
Llanymynech	•••	•••	The parish of Llanymynech and Pant	1
Maserfield			The Maserfield ward of the parish of Oswestry	3
Ruyton-XI-Tov	wns		The parish of Ruyton-XI-Towns	1
St. Martin's		•••	The parish of St. Martin's	2
Sweeney		•••	The Aston and Sweeney wards of the parish of Oswestry Rural	2
Trefonen	•••	•••	The Trefonen, Llanforda and Sychtyn wards of the parish of Oswestry Rural	1
Victoria	•••	•••	The Victoria ward of the parish of Oswestry	3
West Felton		•••	The parishes of Knockin and West Felton	1
Weston Rhyn		•••	The parish of Weston Rhyn	2
Whittington	•••	•••	The parish of Whittington	2

Printed in England by Burrup, Mathieson & Co., Ltd., and published by Her Majesty's Stationery Office

17/S918720/w Z56 K9 1/76

8p net

ISBN 0 11 052200 1