1975 No. 2145

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Borough of Elmbridge (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975

Made - - - 14th December 1975
Coming into Operation 6th May 1976

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 5th August 1975 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the Borough of Elmbridge:

Now, therefore, I, the Right Honourable Roy Jenkins, one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, do hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Borough of Elmbridge (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on 6th May 1976 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation forthwith.
- 3.—(1) The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.
- (2) The map referred to in this Order is the map marked "MAP REFERRED TO IN THE BOROUGH OF ELMBRIDGE (ELECTORAL ARRANGE-MENTS) ORDER 1975" and deposited with the Secretary of State.
- 4. The existing wards of the Borough of Elmbridge shall be abolished and the said borough shall be divided into twenty-two wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of Schedule 1 to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by blue lines thereon.
- 5. Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line thereof.
- 6. The number of councillors to be elected for each ward constituted by this Order shall be the number specified in column 2 of Schedule 1 to this Order opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- 7.—(1) The wards constituted by this Order shall have the internal boundaries thereof mered by Ordnance Survey.

- (2) Copies of the map, marked "COPY OF THE MAP REFERRED TO IN THE BOROUGH OF ELMBRIDGE (ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS) ORDER 1975", shall be deposited with the council of the Borough of Elmbridge and with the Director General of the Ordnance Survey and such copies shall at all reasonable times be open to inspection by any person.
- 8. Subject to the provisions of Article 9 below the election of councillors shall be by thirds.
- 9.—(1) The whole number of councillors shall be elected at the ordinary elections of councillors in 1976.
- (2) The order of retirement of the councillors elected in 1976 shall be as set out in Schedule 2 to this Order.
- (3) Where the number of councillors elected in 1976 for any ward of the borough is two, the first to retire in each ward shall be, subject to paragraphs (5) and (6) below, the councillor elected by the smaller number of votes.
- (4) Where the number of councillors elected in 1976 for any ward of the borough is three—
 - (a) one-third shall retire in 1978 being, subject to paragraphs (5) and (6) below, the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes;
 - (b) one-third shall retire in 1979 being, subject as aforesaid, the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes;
 - (c) the remaining councillor shall retire in 1980.
- (5) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any year, the person to retire in that year shall be determined by lot.
- (6) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in any year shall be determined by lot.
- (7) Where under this Article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot shall be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen, and the drawing shall be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.
- (8) Except as otherwise provided in the foregoing paragraphs of this Article, the term of office of councillors shall be four years, and all councillors shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors of the borough in the year of retirement and the newly elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.
- 10. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or alteration of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into operation of this Order.

Roy Jenkins,
One of Her Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State.

Home Office, Whitehall. 14th December 1975.

SCHEDULE 1 NAMES OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

Articles 4 and 6.

	2 Number of Councillors						
Claygate	•••	•••			•••	•••	3
Cobham and Down	nside	•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	3
Cobham Fairmile		•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	2
Esher	•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	3
Hersham North	•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	3
Hersham South	•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	3
Hinchley Wood	•••	•••	• • •	•••	•••	•••	3
Long Ditton		•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	2
Molesey East	•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	3
Molesey North	•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	3
Molesey South	•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	3
Oatlands Park	•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	3
Oxshott and Stoke D'Abernon							3
St. George's Hill		•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	3
Thames Ditton	•••	•••		•••		•••	3
Walton Ambleside		•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	.2
Walton Central		•••		•••	•••	•••	3
Walton North		•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	3
Walton South		•••		•••	•••	•••	3
Weston Green	•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	2
Weybridge North	•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	2
Weybridge South		•••	•••	•••	•••	•••	2

SCHEDULE 2
ORDER OF RETIREMENT OF COUNCILLORS

Name of Wa	ard		Number of Councillors to retire in 1978	Number of Councillors to retire in 1979	Number of Councillors to retire in 1980
Claygate	•••		. 1	1	1
Cobham and Downs	side		1	1	1
Cobham Fairmile	•••		1	0	1
Esher	•••		1	1	1
Hersham North	•••		1	1	1
Hersham South	•••	•••	1	1	1
Hinchley Wood	•••		1	1	1
Long Ditton	•••		1	1	0
Molesey East	•••		1	1	1
Molesey North	•••		1	1	1
Molesey South		•	1	1	1
Oatlands Park	•••		1	1	1
Oxshott and Stoke D'Abernon		•••	1	1	1
St. George's Hill		•••	1	1	1
Thames Ditton			1	1	1
Walton Ambleside			1	1	0
Walton Central			1	1	1
Walton North			1	1	1
Walton South			1	1	1
Weston Green			0	1	1
Weybridge North			0	1	1
Weybridge South	•••	•••	1	o	1

Printed in England by McCorquodale Printers Ltd., and published by Her Majesty's Stationery Office 17/P16196/1 Y98 K9 1/76

12p net

ISBN 0 11 052145 5